Wildflower Wednesday ( a day late)

(from upper L-R across & down: Unknown Solidago (background), Pink Chelone, Vernonia or Ironweed and Beautyberry)

  I meant to post this yesterday and got caught up with other stuff,  so it’s a day late.   Well it’s the last full week of August and the garden is starting to push out some early fall bloomers.  This is a great year for my Beautyberry with it’s gorgeous purple berries.   Mine are just starting to change color from green to a pale pinkish purple color.   Another favorite fall bloomer of mine is the Chelone or Turtlehead which is a great shade plant.  Ironweed has been blooming since last week in the garden and it really looks great with my Lantana ‘Miss Huff’.  It’s new to my garden this season and so far I’m very impressed with this native.  Solidagos have been blooming for a couple of weeks now and they are truly a sign of summer coming to a close.   I’m ready for this summer to end, it’s been long, hot & dry in the garden.  Fall will bring some cooler temps and hopefully some rain.    To see more Wildflower Wednesday posts or to join in please visit our gracious host Gail @ Clay and Limestone.  Sorry that I’m late with my post Gail.

8 responses to this post.

  1. That ironweed is such a great shade of purple.

    Thanks Tina, I love it. :)

    Reply

  2. I am definitely ready for fall, too! Your beautyberry looks lovely; I added one to my garden this spring, too, and so far I’ve been very happy with it. Can’t wait to see those purple berries. I also have goldenrod—lots of it, in fact; I think it has taken over the butterfly garden:)

    All your roses on your last post are gorgeous!

    This summer has been a beast. Thanks Rose, I’m so glad I added this pretty native shrub to the garden a couple of years ago. Think I’m going to get a bounty of those pretty purple berries this year. Yeah the Goldenrod can really spread when it’s happy. Thanks I feel very blessed to have so many of my Grandma’s roses in my garden. :)

    Reply

  3. The goldenrod has just not started to break buds here but the ironweed is blooming. It’s always a fall favorite! Love the beautyberry!

    What a difference in our zones huh Dave? Yep Ironweed has become one of my new favorites this year. Thanks! :)

    Reply

  4. Don’t you just love ironweed? I forgot all about my turtlehead (in a part of the garden I don’t often see) and just ran out to look: buds! :)

    Yes I do Monica, it’s new to my garden this year and it’s quickly becoming one of my top ten favorites. Glad I reminded you to check on your Turtlehead, yay for buds! :)

    Reply

  5. hey Racquel, I’ve been wanting to try Turtlehead but have thought it wanted more moisture then we have here. What say you?! I love Ironweed, too. gail

    I have mine planted in dry shade and it does great. I’ve given it no additional water this summer either. :)

    Reply

  6. I am so amazed though I shouldn’t be at all the variety of plants out there! God sure must have had a great time when He was creating all the vegetation!! Love that Ironweed!

    I am always amazed when I look at all the gorgeous flowers in my garden. Only God could of created such amazing colors & shapes. Thanks Mary for stopping by. :)

    Reply

  7. Posted by skeeter on August 26, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    Purple and Gold my favorite colors together!

    Mine too Skeeter! :)

    Reply

  8. Great natives. Hope all is well up there with the Hurricane. Take care. (My ironweed, Vernonia fasciculata, bloomed in early summer–I need to add a fall variety).

    Thanks Freda. Glad we got through Irene with minimal damage. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

