Monarch Butterfly

Here’s a few photos of a Monarch Butterfly that I chased around my garden yesterday.  It kept flitting from one bloom to another.  Happy Friday!  Hope everyone has a nice weekend.  :)

12 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful monarch and a lovely way to spend some time in the garden, Racquel. The garden is full with critter activity in August.
    Meems

    Thanks Meems, it was fun chasing this beauty around the garden with my little dog Spaz in full pursuit. lol :)

    Reply

  2. How beautiful…it obviously love that Lantanta! I’m sad we don’t get Monarchs in our neck of the woods…we do have Yellow Swallowtails, at least :-)

    Yep the Lantana is very popular with the Butterflies and Hummingbirds. Sorry to hear that Scott. :(

    Reply

  3. Lantana sure attracts some great butterflies, hoping mine will bring some Monarchs my way!

    It sures does Janet, all of them seem to be crazy about it. Good luck with yours! :)

    Reply

  4. Elusive to get a photo of but you managed to capture the beauty of the monarch……several times……..Enjoy the weekend

    Thanks Rosemary, I was pleased with the photos I captured of this elusive flying flower. :)

    Reply

  5. Seeing a Monarch always makes me happy–I’ve been known to chase a few around the garden, too, Racquel. Lantana is such a butterfly magnet, isn’t it?

    Me too Rose since their not as abundant as in years past. Yep I love how many critters attracts to my yard every summer, plus it’s drought tolerant to boot. :)

    Reply

  6. Very nice! I love following them around–they are the most frenetic bfly in the garden! will you visit my blog and see the 10 I followed a few days ago?

    Thanks Benjamin. Yes they are a bit frenetic, the perfect word to describe their movements through the garden. I’ll be by in a sec to see your post. :)

    Reply

  7. I have to laugh because I was doing the same thing the other day, only it was a swallowtail I was chasing. Your shots are gorgeous!

    I bet our neighbors think we’re a bit silly chasing butterflies around our yards. Thanks Grace! :)

    Reply

  8. Uh, look at you with the Monarch! Jut wonderful, where are mine I wonder?

    I’m sure yours are around somewhere Darla. :)

    Reply

  9. Wonderful! I’ve seen only one or two here all summer long. It’s delightful on the lantana.

    I’ve seen alot of Swallowtails but this was the first Monarch I’ve seen all summer. Thanks Tina. :)

    Reply

  10. Great pictures! Butterflies love lantana!

    Thanks Dave, yep and so do the Hummers. :)

    Reply

  11. Butterflies just love to flutter about. Just when you think they are settled – you shuffle into position – raise the camera…and they fly off again.
    It can be very exhausting!

    Some are more cooperative at posing for pictures than others I’ve noticed. But yes it can be a bit tiring chasing them around the garden, not to mention my family thinks I’m nuts. ;) lol

    Reply

  12. It sure was nice of the butterfly and Miss Huff to compliment each other’s colors.

    LOL, I didn’t even notice that Les until you mentioned it. ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

