Knautia ‘Thunder and Lightning’

Knautia macedonia 'Thunder & Lightning'

A new addition to my garden this spring was this variegated Knautia ‘Thunder & Lightning’.   I planted it in a container for the summer and will transfer it to the garden this fall once the temps have cooled off a bit.  The magenta pink blooms make a striking combination with this creamy white and green foliage don’t you think?  It has been holding it’s own so far through this crazy weather we’ve been having this season.  This week I noticed it had started budding up and the first bloom opened this morning.  Here’s some more info on this new addition to my garden:

  • Introduced by Sunny Border Nurseries
  • Prefers well drained neutral soil
  • Compact size makes it great for containers
  • Grows 12-18″ tall and 10-18″ wide
  • Blooms from June – August
  • Prefers full sun conditions
  • Deer resistant
  • Good for cut or dried flower bouquets
  • Hardy from zones 4-9
9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Racquel on July 31, 2011 at 9:28 am

    How do you like my new blog theme? I thought the retro feel was fun. :)

    Reply

  2. I like the retro theme, kind of fun.
    That Knautia is beautiful, it just glows.

    Thanks Janet, I think it’s kind of fun too. I’m impressed with this Knautia so far. :)

    Reply

  3. I think I had a pair of hip-hugger bellbottoms with that paisley print when I was a senior in high school in 1972! Wore an orange henley T shirt with it. :-) I love your header!

    I’m so glad that you posted about the knautia. Knautia has been on my “try it” list for a few years, but I’ve not gotten around to trying it. The variegated foliage is really different and I like that, too!

    Wow good times huh Freda, lol. I had a pair of hip huggers bellbottoms with a band of smiley faces on the bottom of the legs. ;) Thanks!

    I’ve been wanting to try Knautia for some time too and this one caught my eye and I had to order it. :)

    Reply

  4. Love the new blog look and I really love the knautia So fresh looking with the green and white foliage.

    Thanks Rosemary, it is a pretty combo huh? :)

    Reply

  5. What a great contrast on a single plant! Curious to learn how it performs for you as it is new to me.

    Isn’t it pretty, I love it! Promise to keep you all updated on how it does for me. :)

    Reply

  6. Just beautiful Raquel! This is a new flower I don’t know about.
    Thanks for your comment checking on me—everything is fine. We have been on vacation, then came home and kept our little grandson a few days. (whew!!) It is so hot here, and the temps are just climbing, so I haven’t done much gardening except to water. : )

    Thanks Linda. Glad things are fine, it’s been hot here too. We did get blessed with a rainfall the day before yesterday. Stay cool. :)

    Reply

  7. It’s a beauty with that deep bloom and variegated foliage.

    Thanks Tina, I love the nice contrast. :)

    Reply

  8. I like your new addition with its variegated foliage and contrasting deep magenta. Very pretty. Your new blog look is so summery! Reminds me of a lot of things from ‘back in the day’ but so nicely updated for this decade. Have a great day. Meems

    Thanks Meems, I love the contrast between the deep magenta blooms & the variegated foliage too. I’m glad you like my new blog theme. The retro look is fun. Have a great day! :)

    Reply

  9. Wow, your blog is looking amazing Racquel. So many changes since I was last here. Very cool header.

    I’ve never grown knautia ~ can you believe it?? I like the variegated foliage on this one a lot tho. Hope you are staying cool this summer.

    Thanks Kathleen! I’m glad you like the new look for my blog, I get bored with the same old, same old and need a change sometimes. :) I had never grown Knautia myself, so nope not surprised. This one really caught my eye so I had to order it. Yep staying indoors and doing my gardening early in the morning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

