Veggie Garden Update

This is what I harvested from my veggie garden this morning.  Considering how hot & dry it’s been this week  I was pleased with what I found out there.  And below is what I’ve done with them so far:

Two large cukes later and I have a quart of refrigerator dill pickles.  Yum!  :)  And I still have one small one left to put in salads tonight for dinner with some of the tomatoes I also picked this morning.  Part of that yellow squash in the previous photo will also be included.  While the rest will be fried up for a nice summer snack.

Six decent sized green bell peppers sliced up almost fills up this gallon size freezer bag.  These will be used over the next month or so in stews, potato pouches etc…  And that was my Veggie Garden update for this week.  Hope everyone is staying cool.  :)

7 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, that’s so impressive! Your veggies look fabulous;-)

    Thanks Jan. :)

    Reply

  2. Yum!

    Exactly! :)

    Reply

  3. Good for you! I should have left all my canning jars with you! Great harvest.

    I love refrigerator pickles and my son eats them up like their candy. Thanks! ;)

    Reply

  4. Fresh and green…and you’ve been so busy!

    I have to say that every time I visit your blog and see that gorgeous hydrangea photo in the header, I just want to touch those blossoms.

    Thanks Freda, trying to keep the garden going inspite of this crazy heatwave. I’m glad you like my header shot that much. :)

    Reply

  5. You may not have green beans, Racquel, but you’ve made up for it with other veggies! My cucumbers and squash are late, and the green pepper plants don’t seem to be growing at all. I’m looking forward to ripe tomatoes, though, in a few weeks.

    thanks Rose, yep grateful for what I am getting. Hope all your stuff catches up soon. :)

    Reply

    • Your veggies look wonderful Racquel! I’ll probably be making some pickles this week too – the cukes are coming faster than we can eat them fresh – don’t want any of that garden goodness going to waste!

      Thanks Linda. :) Sounds like you are getting a bumper crop of cukes this year, good for you! I love homemade pickles so hope my cukes start doing the same thing.

      Reply

  6. Veggies are doing very well in your garden.Pickles and green peppers will be a nice treat in winter.

    Thanks Rosemary, hope they last that long, lol! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

