They love the Buddleia

Bees and Butterflies adore the Buddleia or Butterfly Bush in my front garden bed.  It doesn’t matter what time of day you step out there, you will find various little creatures buzzing around sipping the sweet nectar from the white fragrant blooms.  The other day there was a mass of Painted Ladies and Bees.  Today I found this common Skipper and several Bumblebees doing their dance.  Normally they ignore me and just keep drinking.  I didn’t stay out there too long, it’s hot and muggy.  Hope everyone has a nice weekend, I guess alot of you will be going to the Seattle Spring Fling.  We will get to see tons of great posts and pics when they get back.  Have fun everyone!  :)

5 responses to this post.

  1. These are great pictures, Racquel! I haven’t seen many butterflies here this year; I’m hoping they’re just late in coming.

    Thanks Rose. :) I think the heat is keeping them in hibernation or something.

    Reply

  2. Great photos, those butterflies are tough to capture when they flit from one bloom to another.

    Thanks Janet. Yep they were not being cooperative as usual. :)

    Reply

  3. Love the white buddleia. Great photo.Purple in my garden just starting to open…

    Thanks Rosemary, I would love a Purple or Yellow flowering type too. ;)

    Reply

  4. What a great white butterfly bush. All those flying insects are so wonderful to have around the house.

    I wonder where they were yesterday when it was 112 degrees out there (with the heat index)? ;)

    Reply

  5. I don’t have that white and I sure do like it in your photos! Loved by the pollinators. Does that one produce seeds? My ‘Royal Red’ are always making more babies. My other colors don’t.

    I’ve never had seedlings sprout from it and I leave the old blossoms on all fall. Thanks Freda! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

