New Additions Update

Hydrangea paniculata 'Pinky Winky'

This will be the third season in the garden for my Hydrangea ‘Pinky Winky’.  It has never looked better or produced so many blooms.  Their not fully open yet, but I’m expecting great things from this ornamental shrub this year.  Here’s hoping…

Dwarf Barberry 'Sunjoy Gold Beret'

This is the second season in the garden for this tiny Berberis thunbergii.  It’s starting to form a nice mound of gold next to this unknown variegated Hosta.  I just think it’s so cute and would probably work well in a large container as well since it only gets about 6-12″ tall and 18″ wide at most.  Hope everyone is having a wonderful Holiday weekend! :)

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hope you are enjoying the holiday weekend. I have resisted barberry because of those razor sharp thorns, but the new varieties have such great colored leaves that I find my resistance melting slowly over time. The Pinky Winky is looking very promising. I am sure the blooms will be pretty.

    Thanks Jennifer, yep staying cool indoors. I know what you mean about their thorns, but the colors are worth the prickly stems in my opinion. Just plant them somewhere you won’t brush up against them. ;)

    Reply

  2. Pinky Winky is lovely with such a great name! Nice colour combo with the hosta and yellow barberry. Happy weekend to you!

    Thanks Rosemary, isn’t that a fun name? The blooms start out creamy white and then turn pink. Happy Weekend! :)

    Reply

  3. I didn’t know there were so many varieties of hydrangea, until I started reading blogs. I love that bit of hosta showing in the second photo as well!

    Oh yeah, and they keep coming up with new varieties constantly. I love the Paniculatas, they hold up well to my heat & humidity. Thanks Diane for stopping by. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

