Money Plant

Lunaria annua ( plant, seedpods, seeds and bloom)

 Lunaria annua is a biennial plant that is native to southwest Asia and to the Balkans, however it has naturalized through Europe, North America and Asia.  It is commonly called Honesty, Silver Dollars and Money Plant.  It doesn’t bloom till the second season and then goes to seed and dies.  But the seed is prolific in self-sowing so that you will have blooms for years to come.  This summer I’ve collected quite a bit of seed from one plant, leaving some on the plant to replenish my garden.  If anyone would like any please email me your address and I will be glad to send you some.  Here’s some more info on this pretty plant:

  • Grows 24-36″ tall
  • Prefers Part sun
  • Blooms in mid-spring
  • Magenta blooms (pink-purple)
  • Attracts bees & butterflies
  • Flowers are fragrant
  • Self-sows freely
  • Direct sow seed in Fall
  • Hardy in zones 4a-8b
9 responses to this post.

  1. I would like to try some again. I grew the white one but I don’t believe they returned this year.

    I have your address Darla, so I’ll send you some in the mail first thing tomorrow morning. :)

    Reply

  2. My mom grew this just so she could use the dried seed pods in the house during winter.

    They do have cool looking seedpods Les. :)

    Reply

  3. I havent seen this Money Plant before, with lovely purple blooms! Locally we have our own version of the Money Plant (Epipremnum aureum) or known as Pothos, Devil’s Ivy, and Silver Vine which is a popular house plant usually grown in vases filled with water – the easiest thing to grow!

    I’ve heard of Pothos, but not by those other common names. Thanks! :)

    Reply

  4. Love that color! Wish I had more room… : )

    Thanks Linda, wish you did too, cause I have plenty of seed…..lol :)

    Reply

  5. I used to have lots of Money Plant in my garden. I thought the bouquets were so pretty with the tissue paper like flowers. I haven’t found a spot here for any…so I guess I’ll have to just enjoy yours. Balisha

    Are you sure Balisha, I have plenty of seed….hint-hint…lol :)

    Reply

  6. I have some that I enjoy. The one that bloomed this year did not get as big as usual, but I have some across the street that are larger already, and they won’t bloom until next year. I’m thinking, though, that they will die back, and regrow.

    Yes you are right Sue, if they didn’t bloom this year they will grow back & bloom next. Enjoy! :)

    Reply

  7. If you have enough seeds, I would love some. I love the purple blooms and the dried seed pods are incredible. I will email you my new address.

    I have plenty Janet and I’ll be happy to share some with you. You have such a large space, maybe I’ll send you 2 packets. :)

    Reply

  8. I’m probably a bit too late but, do you still happen to have any seeds left? I’d love to try to get them to grow here in Chennai (India) (where I currently am—of course, you don’t need to mail them to me here but only to my sister’s address in the US). Thanks.

    I still have some seed left if you would like some. Just send me your sister’s address to my email at grdplants@cox.net

    Reply

  9. That’s a beautiful flower! I love that color too..I have heard of monkey plant, but not money plant. Would they grow in Michigan?

    Thanks Mumsy. I’m pretty sure they would grow in Michigan as well. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

