Veggie Garden Update

(From upper L-R: Cucumber 'Sassy x', Tomato 'Celebrity x', 'Bonnie Grape' Tomatoes, 'Husky Cherry' Tomatoes, 'Opal' Basil and Green Bell Pepper)

Look what the garden is producing so far this month.  I’ve been harvesting the cherry tomatoes for a few weeks now.   Their great in salads, but I love to eat them straight from the garden sun warmed and pesticide free.   No cukes or squash yet, but blossoms are always a good sign of things to come.  Glad to see the larger tomatoes are starting to ripen as well, love them on sandwiches and hamburgers.  I planted two of these Green Bell peppers in blue plastic tubs and two in the raised garden beds.  The ones in the tubs are twice as big and full of tiny peppers.  However they both get the same amount of sunlight and the soil is similar.  It’s a real puzzle to me, but the ones in the bed are starting to take off so only time will tell I guess.  I love this ‘Opal’ Basil not only for the flavor it adds to salads, but the deep burgundy color it adds to the garden.   What kinds of veggies are you hoping to harvest from your garden this season?  :)

5 responses to this post.

  1. Your garden is looking so good. Warm fresh tomatoes from the garden nothing better.

    Thanks Rosemary, I agree completely. :)

    Reply

  2. Nothing like eating tomatoes straight off the plant. My Basil plants are sulking outside as it has got cooler which always makes them stop growing. Your purple Basil looks very attractive.

    So true EG, so true! Yep Basil love the hot temps of summer, no cool weather for them. Thanks, I love the color and the taste is more mild. :)

    Reply

  3. Love the new header….or was it there last time I visited?? Anyhow, love it! Great veggies so far! You are going be eating out of your garden all summer long! Love the Opal basil, very pretty.

    Thanks Janet, lol, I’m not sure if it was or not. I just changed it this week. :) I’m thrilled to pick veggies from the garden, miss them during the winter & spring.

    Reply

  4. Your tomatoes look so good! None here but I harvested potatoes and cukes yesterday. Hard to believe everything is happening so fast.

    Wow I wish I could say I havested cukes already, mine are starting to make blooms at least. :)

    Reply

  5. I posted a small harvest from our garden…such joy! Your veggies look great. Isn’t there a mystery in the garden every year? Need to get my bells in the ground.

    It’s always a joy to pick fresh veggies from your own backyard! Yep the weather plays a big part in that mystery too. It’s been a weird growing season thus far. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

