Bloomin Tuesday

From L-R: Bluestar Amsonia (background), Evening Primrose 'Twilight', Rosa 'Bonica' and Clematis 'Nelly Moser'

It’s that time of the week again when we show what blooming in our gardens.  This Amsonia ‘Blue Star’ is such a pale shade of blue that it photographs as white. It was a new addition in 2009 from a Master Gardener’s plant sale in Yorktown.  I may live to regret this Evening Primrose since it seems to be prolific reseeder so far.  But luckily I’ve been able to contain it somewhat in a corner of my garden where nothing else seems to thrive.  Rosa ‘Bonica is a climbing rose that has nicely fragrant flowers, but is prone to blackspot unfortunately.  I love my  ‘Nelly Moser’, she’s the first clematis that I ever purchased and is always the last to bloom. 

From L-R: Allium nectaroscordum, Allium nigrum, Allium unifolium and Allium 'Pink Jewel'

 The alliums have begun to put on their spring show and one of my favorites is this nectaroscordum which is commonly called Mediterranean Bells.  A new addition this past fall was ‘Pink Jewel’.  It’s the first and only pink tall allium according to Brecks which is where I purchased it of course.  So far the buds are tightly closed but I’m sure it will be stunning in another few days or so.  I’ve had Nigrum and Unifolium in my garden for a few years now and they are very reliable bloomers each spring.  Other than my Amsonia the theme this week seems to be pink.  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in please visit Ms. Greenthumb.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Such soft spring colors Racquel. Very pretty.

    Thanks Darla! :)

    Reply

  2. What a lot of colour in your garden ….. you must be getting sun! Lovely/.

    It’s been sunny & warm here for a couple of weeks now and everything has jumped. Thanks Rosemary. :)

    Reply

  3. Such pretty soft spring colors. I also love allium. There are so many varieties.

    Thanks Zoey, I love this time of the year. :)

    Reply

  4. Calling by from Bloomin Tuesday to visit another participant, Your Nelly Moser is looking beautiful, I think it was probably the first clematis we ever purchased as well, although we do not have one in this garden.

    Thanks for stopping by Lindy Lou. You will have to add a Nelly to your current garden, she’s a keeper. :)

    Reply

  5. Racquel, I love your alliums! The Mediterrainan Bells is really beautiful. I have the evening prim rose and even tho it spreads like crazy, I love it. I bought a white one a couple years ago too. Great Bloomin’ Tuesday post! Jean

    Thanks Jean. Alliums are always at the top of my favorite blooms list every spring & summer. I’ll keep that in mind about the Evening Primrose, maybe it will a welcome speader in my garden too. ;)

    Reply

  6. Nice photos. I love looking at the beautiful blooms in your garden.

    Why thank you Suffia. :)

    Reply

  7. Lovely~i envy you a bit with all those alliums! I could use a bit more sun for them! Happy Spring. gail

    Thanks Gail, I couldn’t imagine my garden without the Alliums. They will take some part sun though. :)

    Reply

  8. You have some lovely Alliums. The ones I have are at exactly the same state of growth all the way across the Atlantic in Italy. Christina

    Thanks Christina. That is amazing that our Alliums are exactly at the same stage with a whole ocean between us. ;)

    Reply

  9. Love your collection of Allium, remember when we went to Brent and Becky’s? They sure had a nice assortment.
    I scrolled through some of your latest posts…your veggie garden looks great!
    Are you going to go to the Learning Garden plant sale on Saturday?

    Thanks Janet, and my Yorktown Onion is going to bloom soon too. Yep I remember all the wonderful plants they had including the Foxtail Lillies which still haven’t done well for me. I got it marked on my calender to go Saturday. Sure I’ll post something about it. :)

    Reply

  10. I didn’t realize there were that many kinds of alliums. I do have a few kinds, but don’t remember their names. My amsonias are just starting to bloom. I like that very light color of yours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

