Masses of Blooms!

More things are beginning to bloom this week and in mass too! Purples and whites seems to be the theme in this post. Allium neopolitanum is a great bulb for containers since it tends to be a bit invasive in the garden.  Right now it occupies my red washtub with some yellow pansies. The Siberian Iris ‘New Wine’ is one of my favorites, in fact I divided it last fall to add to other areas of the garden.  The hint of blue on the falls is pretty mingled with the purple and yellow. This Rhodie has been a part of my garden for many years now and it always puts on a great show in April.  Look the Baptisia ‘Purple Smoke’ I posted about last week is now in full bloom!  The buds start out a deep smoky purple that opens to this pale lavender.  I love these little Zephyranthes candida.  They are commonly called either Zephyr Lily, Rain Lily or Fairy Lily.  They always seem to bloom right after a nice rain fall.  Two of my Clemmies, ‘Snow Queen’ and ‘Niobe’,  are putting on a great show right now with their first big flush of the season.  The trellises they occupy dress up a blank brick wall out front and a shed wall in the back yard.  I showed you just a couple of days ago my Rosa ‘Morning Magic’ and now look at her!  She is a mass of gorgeous shell blooms that fade to a off white with age.  This is just one side of the arch in the Arbor Garden, the other side has the same rose but it is two years younger and hasn’t quite caught up yet. Have a nice weekend everyone!  I’ll be in the tinkering around in the garden most likely.   :)

6 responses to this post.

  1. So beautiful, Racquel! Gorgeous all the way around;-)

    Thanks Jan! Glad you liked it. :)

    Reply

  2. Lovely floral slide show…

    Thanks Rosemary! :)

    Reply

  3. Posted by skeeter on April 28, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    Nice slide show! One I could watch over and over again! It is amazing how quickly a plant changes this time of year…

    Thanks Skeeter. I’m glad you enjoyed my slideshow of blooms. You are so right about how quickly a plant can change! :)

    Reply

  4. Beautiful! Thanks for the slide show, much prettier than my yard.

    Thanks Sherry, you are quite welcome! :)

    Reply

  5. You really do have a mass of blooms, Racquel! Your climbing rose is amazing–I thought it was a clematis at first.

    Thanks Rose, isn’t that Rose something? I’m in love with how great it looks on this arch and in full bloom it’s stunning! :)

    Reply

  6. Spring in your yard is glorious! I do love that Purple Smoke and all the clematis.

    Thanks Tina, aren’t they gorgeous? :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

