Hosta Garden Update

Before (10/11/10) and After (4/10/11)

Last fall I did a post about redoing the Hosta Garden Bed which you can read here if you’re interested.  Basically I divided the 7 Royal Standard Hostas that existed in this bed into 28 smaller divisions.  Some were potted up for a co-worker of my husband’s and the rest were replanted in this staggered pattern.  They may take a couple of seasons to make a dense mass but that’s okay with me.  I pre-ordered Daffodils in bulk to add to the bed this fall. The rest of the plantings include masses of unknown yellow and white ‘Thalia’ Daffodils, a Rhododendrum, two Viburnums and two Nandinas.  The fountain was a early b-day present last year and it rounds out this simple bed.  With a fresh layer of mulch and the edging completed it really looks great.  I can’t wait to see how it looks in a few more months.  I’ll keep you posted on the progress of this garden.  :)

5 responses to this post.

  1. It’s looking great! I’m so glad it’s spring!

    Thanks Sue, me too! :)

    Reply

  2. I always enjoy seeing before and after photos. The hostas will fill out this bed in no time!

    Thanks Rose, me too. :) I hope so, I think after another season or two it will be lush & thick again.

    Reply

  3. That garden will be so lush and thick with hostas by the summer! Very nice.

    Thanks Janet, from your lips to God’s ears I hope. :)

    Reply

  4. Posted by suzyq - atthefarmhouse on April 17, 2011 at 4:24 am

    Thank you so much for stopping by the farm house! We are starting to have some cooler weather now (I’m in Australia!) so I hope to get out in the garden soon!!
    Suzyq

    You are quite selcome Suzyq! Your seasons are completely opposite of ours, I always forget that. Hope it warms up soon for you. :)

    Reply

  5. Will be interesting to see the growth of this garden this season

    Thanks Rosemary, I promise to keep you all updated. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

