My other garden buddy…

Mooch (the cat)

I know you all have seen various pictures on my blog where Spaz the terrier has managed to get in shots I’ve taken of the garden.  Sometimes I don’t even realize it until I upload the photos.  ;)  But here is one of my other garden buddy, Mooch the cat.  He tends to stalk me when I’m doing work in the front flower beds.  It’s common for me to be kneeling down doing some weeding and him to jump out and scare the mess out of me.  lol  Last week I was trying to get some photos of the garden for a post I was doing and he managed to get in a few shots.  He was following me around like ‘hey pay attention to me….’  However I do have to keep an eye on him because he likes to chase the birds and butterflies like the typical predator.  Luckily for them he doesn’t have front claws so they have a fair chance of escaping.  This is his favorite garden to lounge in during the heat of the day since it stays shady in the afternoon.  During the morning hours he likes to hang out in the front foundation bed under the Buddleia or in the raised bed between the Daylillies which he manages to squish every summer. Oh well, gardening with pets isn’t easy but I wouldn’t have it any other way.  :)

9 responses to this post.

  1. Mooch is a sweetie! Everyone needs a cat in the garden for a garden buddy. Not sure about the dogs though:)

    I agree Tina, they do make a fun garden buddy. The dogs make things alittle more tricky I agree. ;)

    Reply

  2. Pat Mooch on the head for me.

    Will do Janet. :)

    Reply

  3. Mooch looks so much like my Tarzan that they could be brothers! I so agree, Racquel–my buddies do create some problems in the garden, but I wouldn’t trade their companionship for anything. Besides, they always make for cute photos:)

    I’ve noticed their strong resemblance from your photos Rose. I know what you mean, the companionship and unconditional love they give us makes up for all the problems in my book. :)

    Reply

  4. Hahaha…indeed! Our neighbor’s orange tabby, Boots, also stalks me whenever I’m outside…he’s so friendly and I love him to death! Unfortunately, he is also a predator and has his claws…he’s constantly bringing us little “presents”, which is not so pleasant :-(

    How fun that your neighbor’s cat is your garden companion. Love his name too. I know what you mean about presents, my little dog Spaz brings us unwanted gifts all the time. lol ;)

    Reply

  5. My cats love clumps of tall grass – which do not stand upright for very long. In a very short while they are a flattened mess. Even short grasses are regularly nibbled to half their length. Ah well – got to take the rough with the smooth :-)

    That’s what Mooch does to the Daylilly foliage. Oh well, you win some and lose some in the garden. ;)

    Reply

  6. Mooch is a lovely cat…….

    Thanks Rosemary. :)

    Reply

  7. I have been looking for a kitten to grow with my garden and keep the snakes out!

    You should check the local shelters in your area Darla. :)

    Reply

  8. Mooch is one cute kitty! ( And that is a precious name!)

    Thanks Linda, all my pets are aptly named. :)

    Reply

  9. I always loved having my pets accompany me in the garden. Mooch is so pretty. Do you plant catnip?
    Balisha

    They do make wonderful companions while doing yardwork that’s for sure. Thanks Balisha. Nope, but he loves that stuff. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

