March Blooms 2011 (GBBD)

(From upper L-R across & down: Narcissus, Grape Hyacinth, Creeping Phlox, Siberian Squill, Hellebore 'Blue Lady' and yellow Pansies)

Here’s what’s blooming in my garden this week.  It won’t be much longer and more spring bulbs will be opening.  I have Narcissus ‘Ice Follies’, ‘Minnow’ and ‘Thalia’ in bud as we speak.  Looks like spring is off to a good start so far.  Since I like to compare from year to year I looked back in my archive section and found  that I didn’t post in March of 2010.  However two years ago on this day I posted my first collage for Garden Bloggers Bloom Day which you can see below iff you’re interested. 

GBBD Post 3/15/09

 It’s been awhile since I remembered to put together a post for GBBD.  If you would like to participate or just see what’s blooming in other gardens all over the world please visit our gracious host Carol @ May Dreams Gardens:)

24 responses to this post.

  1. Love your collage of blooms!

    Thank you Rebecca. :)

    Reply

  2. Aren’t you so excitied to see all of this activity in your gardens? Love this time of the year!

    Yep it’s my favorite season! :)

    Reply

  3. Just seeing these blooms brightens my day. Thanks and happy GBBD!

    Glad to hear that Joene, Happy GBBD to you too! :)

    Reply

  4. Your yellowy-oranges and purply-blues are lovely. I keep wondering if squill will grow in Central Texas. Happy GBBD!

    Thanks Caroline, I love those color combos. You should give Squill a try to see if it will grow there. :)

    Reply

  5. Even I am getting excited about spring bulbs pushing out of the ground and heralding spring. Me, here in the tropics where there are no 4 seasons, no spring!
    Rosie

    I couldn’t imagine not having four seasons, so much to anticipate. :)

    Reply

  6. Beautiful. You must be in a slightly warmer climate than i am. Where do you garden?

    Now I’m all excited about my upcoming bulbs.

    Jane

    Thanks Jane. I’m in the Tidewater area, we’re almost a zone warmer than you. :)

    Reply

  7. It’s so good to see all these colorful blooms of spring, Racquel! We’re not as far along as you, but I see green shoots coming up from the ground, so that’s encouraging.

    Glad to hear that spring is starting to appear in your garden Rose. Thanks! :)

    Reply

  8. Hi,

    Lovely to see so many different blooms in your garden, most exciting time of the year watching plants appear.

    Hi Liz, thanks! Yes thiis is definitely my most favorite season of all. Everything is new again. :)

    Reply

  9. Ooooh, I love seeing your creeping phlox. That just screams spring to me. :) Thanks for sharing!

    Your welcome Hanni. Glad you enjoyed my post. :)

    Reply

  10. Happy Bloom Day Racquel. I am envious of your Muscari, I planted some and it is slowly coming up. Maybe next year it will be earlier.
    I do like comparing one year to the next to see what is blooming. Nice collages.

    Happy Bloom Day to you too! I have those cute little Grape Hyacinths everywhere including in the lawn. Thanks. :)

    Reply

  11. Your daffodil looks enormous compared to your hand.

    It is a big bloom Donna. :)

    Reply

  12. Posted by skeeter on March 15, 2011 at 11:08 am

    Happy Spring!

    To you too Skeeter! :)

    Reply

  13. Wow – that hellebore bloom is gynormous Raquel! Spring is in full swing in your garden – beautiful!

    Thanks Linda, this is the second season in my garden and its’ first time to bloom! !

    Reply

  14. I specially love your Blue Lady hellebores, so gorgeous! Great to see colours now after the long wintery scenes!

    Thanks, this will be its’ second season in my garden and the first time it bloomed. :)

    Reply

  15. Hello Raquel,
    Glad to meet you through GBBD !
    Greetings from Belgium !

    Hello Isabelle, nice to meet you too! So nice to meet a fellow garden blogger!! :)

    Reply

  16. Ice Follies are a big winner down here. I must get some next year. And,I also want crocus. I saw the prettiest yellow-gold color this year–I really want some of those too! Great blooms Racquel–thanks for sharing!!

    I fell in love with the picture on the package and had to add some Ice follies to my garden this past fall. Their full of buds now. That’s the nice thing about blogging, you get to see all the things you have to add to your own garden soon… lol ;)

    Reply

  17. I’m sooo ready to see some spring blooms! Lovely! Jean

    Hope that wish comes true soon Jean! :)

    Reply

  18. Oh how pretty! Your gardens are lovely and all so in bloom. Happy GBBD!

    Thanks Lee, Happy GBBD! :)

    Reply

  19. I agree with spring being off to a good start, and the long term forecast does not look bad either. Happy GBBD!

    That’s music to my ears Les, I’m ready for winter to be over that’s for sure. Happy GBBD! :)

    Reply

  20. It’s exciting seeing Spring begin in your part of the world while we are heading to Winter. It’s one of the things I love about Blooms Day.

    That is pretty interesting that our seasons flip flop. :)

    Reply

  21. It’s amazing what a little bit of sunshine can do – though you are certainly futher on with Spring than my garden. That’s quite a large flowering hellebore that you have.

    It really is amazing what some warm sunshine can do that’s for sure. Thanks Rosie. :)

    Reply

  22. Beautiful blooms already Racquel. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen that Siberian squill. Very pretty.

    Thanks Susie. Their what people call a minor bulb, very tiny in stature. ;)

    Reply

  23. Your spring blooms are quite lovely. I love the hellebore! I like to look back at other years, too. My blooms are a bit behind last years’.

    Thanks Sue. Hellebores are in my top 5 favorite perennials at the moment. ;)

    Reply

  24. Beautiful blooms all. Happy Bloom Day Racquel.~~Dee

    Why thank you very much Dee! Happy GBBD to you too !:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

