Early Christmas Presents

 Every year I make it easy for my family to find the perfect gift to give me.  It’s a no-brainer on what I want, it’s always for the garden of course.  This year was no exception either since I knew I had to have these natural compost bins that I saw in the  Gardener’s Supply Company catalog.  On cyber monday  they offered free shipping plus $10.00 off each by ordering 2 or more, so hubby said what are you waiting for?  Yay!!!  They came within a few days and I set them up this past weekend with the help of my oldest son.  No tools required, just a little muscle to help me get the unwieldy boxes out to the work area.  I love how they slot together like Lincoln Logs (remember those?)  Now to fill them up with all kinds of yummy things like leaves, coffee grounds, egg shells, green stuff etc….  Just think how happy my veggie garden will be next spring when I give it a layer of black gold.  I got my idea for this post from Dee @ Red Dirt Ramblings, she did an entire post dedicated to Gifts for Gardeners.  Thanks for the inspiration Dee.  :)

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by meemsnyc on December 8, 2010 at 3:10 am

    Oooh, compost bins! What an incredibly awesome gift! Congrats! You’ll love the compost it makes!

    Thanks Meems! I can’t wait to see all the yummy stuff it makes for the garden. :)

    Reply

  2. Racquel girl how perfect is this ! And yes .. even Canadian kids played with those building logs .. they were FUN !
    I wish I had the room for something like this .. it is so satisfying to make your own compost I bet .. I did see a small drum one that is easy to care for .. but I think the price was a bit steep for me ..
    Congrats on getting a present that you can really use and appreciate !!
    Joy : )
    PS .. can yo mail me some compost when it is ready ? wink wink

    It’s the ideal gift indeed Joy. Ha, my boys loved those building logs too, they had a whole bucket full. They are quite big I admit but if you could squeeze at least one in to your garden you wouldn’t be sorry that’s for sure. Yep they can be a bit pricey, these were very reasonable in my opinion. Thanks and I would if I could…lol :)

    Reply

  3. They are some fine looking compost bins. Have a merry early Christmas!

    Thanks Les, I’m very happy with my early Christmas gifts. :)

    Reply

  4. I still say you get the BEST gardening gifts!

    Thanks Darla, I feel blessed that my family is so generous to my obsession. :)

    Reply

  5. Wow, Merry Christmas to you!! Very nice bins, what great compost you will have in the future.

    Thanks Janet, I am thrilled with my new compost bins. :)

    Reply

  6. Looks like the perfect gift to me Racquel!

    Thanks Susie, I agree. :)

    Reply

  7. AWESOME! Love them!

    Thanks Tina, so do I. ;)

    Reply

  8. Great gift! All the better that you got them early! I like anything for my garden too ~ I’ll have to hint about these ~ I could use a compost system myself.

    Thanks Kathleen, yep I already have started filling them up. Just show your family my post for the hint-hint. :)

    Reply

  9. Oh, happy composting!!! I love composting. I find it so amazing to see garbage turn into “black gold.” Why, it’s the gift that keeps on giving! I know your Christmas is already Merry !

    Thanks Toni, I’ve been busy filling up my new bins with all sorts of yummy stuff already. Yep it really is the ‘gift that keeps on giving’! :)

    Reply

  10. What a great Christmas present, Racquel! And how nice of your son to help put them together. Your garden is really going to appreciate all that black gold next year.

    Thanks Rose, best gift I ever got by far I think. Yep I was grateful for his help. And I can’t wait till spring now. :)

    Reply

  11. Racquel, thank you so much for the link. My favorite part of your post was where your hubby said, “What are you waiting for?” Love it. My sweet husband has said that many, many times over the years. I hope you enjoy your new bins, and next year, they are filled to the brim with black gold.~~Dee

    You are quite welcome Dee, thanks for the inspiration. Ha, yep hubby is my enabler when it comes to my gardening hobbyobsession. I think I will get many years of enjoyment from this gift and the garden will reap the rewards! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

