Fall Checklist Update

Chrysantheums in full glory 11/17/10

Well I’ve been working hard this past weekend completing some of the tasks I wanted to do before the end of the month.  Here’s what we (my son helped quite a bit) got done so far:

  • Transplanted a Knockout Rose from my grandmother’s garden bed to my Rose Garden out front (after trimming it back severely)
  • Cut back the other 3 Knockouts since they were really unruly.  This took 3 large yardbags! 
  • Divided the  one large Phlox ‘Robert Poore’ in this bed into 4 smaller divisions which were planted between the Roses
  • Moved a large clump of Purple Coneflowers into the raised garden bed (making 3 smaller clumps)
  • Weeded both the Rose Garden and Raised Garden beds and cut back the dead foliage on some perennials
  • Divided the Shasta Daisies in Grandma’s Garden bed into 5 smaller clumps that were spread around her bed and my New Garden bed
  • Moved some purple Beebalm from my garden into her bed as well as some double daylillies
  • Moved the Green Coneflowers into a sunnier spot behind the birdbath in the New Garden (in place of the Beebalm)
  • Moved the Hydrangea ‘White Swan’ into the Green Coneflowers former shadier spot
  • Planted some  ‘Hair’ Allium bulbs in the New Garden
  • Sowed Larkspur, Rose Campion, False Queen Anne’s Lace and Nigella seeds in the Arbor Garden Bed
  • Moved a hybrid Rose from the Knockout Rose Bed into the Raised bed

Here’s what I hope to still get done this month (if not than there’s always next spring):

  • Replace landscape timbers that have rotted on the Raised Bed out front
  • Move my compost bin that’s beside the Arbor Garden to the work area on the other side of my yard
  • Make a new bed for the Vitex Tree (yep still in the pot) ;)
  • Remove fountain pumps and store in the garage (this is a must)
  • Make one more raised veggie bed
9 responses to this post.

  1. Ah you are reminding me to make another list! You got a lot done!

    Thanks Dave, sorry that I added to your list though. ;)

    Reply

  2. Wow Racquel, what a list! Good for you. Moving and trimming those roses must have given you and your son a few scratches along the way.
    (GET THAT VITEX IN THE GROUND!! :-) )

    Yep I was a bit ambitious this year but it will all pay off. :) Oh yeah we were paid back big time with lots of scratches, lol. Thanks, I know it needs to get planted ASAP.

    Reply

  3. You’ve been busy doing all those fun things involving digging in the dirt!

    Some were fun and some not so much, lol. ;)

    Reply

  4. Whew, I broke a sweat just reading all that! Good job Racquel! I wish I could say I had gotten a lot done recently but I can’t. Maybe I can just blame it on our cold, snowy weather?!!!

    Sorry that I wore you out with my fall checklist Kathleen. ;) Well you do have the excuse of it being snowy and cold there, don’t blame you.

    Reply

  5. Girl, you are way busy!! But I love fall days out in the yard preparing for a new year. Almost time for you to rest though! :)

    Yep I sure am and I can’t wait for my long winter’s break to prepare for next spring. :)

    Reply

  6. Oh geez, you are putting all of us to shame….can I divide and move Agapanthus now?

    Sorry Darla, didn’t mean to do that. ;) Yep you should be able to divide it now. It’s dormant right now right?

    Reply

  7. You have been very busy, Racquel! Garden chores have been put on hold here while I get ready for Thanksgiving, but what doesn’t get done now can wait till spring, as you say.

    You have too Rose, making a new bed was a massive project in itself. Yep whatever I don’t get done will hold off till spring I guess. ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

