Fireplace Refacing

Before

My hubby took last week off and this is what we did for part of that time.  I’ve hated the plain red brick on my fireplace for the past 14 years.  So happy that it finally is updated with the tile (as you can see in the photo below).

After

Talk about a dramatic change! Even with the old mantle, which  really compliments the browns in the glass tiles that we added on the hearth and top.  So proud of  me & hubby’s first tiling project.   We did good.  :)   (Click on any photo to enlarge it)

12 responses to this post.

  1. He’s so talented! What a great job! Looks so different!

    Thanks Meems, but it was a team effort. :)

    Reply

  2. You did a GREAT job for your first time tiling Racquel! I’ve always been afraid to try. Did you cut the tiles yourself too? or just help lay them? It does look very updated and nice!

    Thanks Kathleen, I’m very proud of our first tiling project. I was a bit afraid too, but it was easier than I expected. A bit messy though. The cutting was the hardest part, and Hubby did most of that. He let me try my hand at a few, not too bad. I did most of the laying of the tiles and all of the grouting, plus I planned the design. :)

    Reply

  3. It’s very nice Racquel, great job!

    Thank you Darla! :)

    Reply

  4. Yes, you did! The new fireplace look is lovely–what a difference!

    Thanks Rose, I’m glad you like it. It blends in with my decor so nicely now. :)

    Reply

  5. Looks very nice Racquel! Kudos to you both!

    Thank you Janet, I’ll let hubby know! :)

    Reply

  6. What a difference. It looks just beautiful Racquel. He did a wonderful job on the tiling and the tile is so pretty. Great choice.

    Thanks Lona. We’re happy with the results. :)

    Reply

  7. Oh my, how beautiful is that!! I can’t believe you guys have never done this before. You have got to be very proud of this!!

    Thank you Linda. I’m very proud of us for taking this on and completing it. :)

    Reply

  8. Oh my gosh…It doesn’t look like the same fireplace. You two did a wonderful job. Balisha

    I still can’t get over how dramtically different it is either Balisha. Thanks! :)

    Reply

  9. Racquel girl funny things are happening to comments on my blog too .. I saw yours in the dashboard but it didn’t turn up until two more tries clicking to follow through .. are we hexed? LOL .. I had commented on how great a job you and hubby did on the fireplace and it is wonderful to have before and after pictures to see that : )
    I’m just glad we still love ours .. wink wink !
    Joy : )
    PS .. this better work now !! haha

    That’s where I spotted your comment too Joy (on my dashboard). Somehow it got connected to the picture itself. ;) Thanks for stopping back by to make sure I knew what you said. You’re a sweetie!

    Reply

  10. 14 years is quite long enough to stare at something you do not like – particularly when it is hard to avoid. It looks much nicer. Now you can contemplate your hard work with a smile on your face!

    Isn’t that the truth, so glad we finally took care of this eyesore. Hubby is so proud that maybe I can persuade him to help me tackle some other projects now. ;)

    Reply

  11. Wow! That looks great! Congrats on you and hubby working together. If my dh and I do a project we almost end up in divorce. hehe!

    Thanks Susie. Yep it got a bit heated at times, but our marriage survived it. lol ;)

    Reply

  12. That is just beatiful. The tile made the firplace look totally different. I am sure the the whole room feels different.

    Thank you Sherry. It really was a dramatic change for the room that’s for sure. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

