Bloomin Tuesday

It’s good to be back in the blogging world again.  I took a week off while my Mom was in town visiting.  Don’t worry you didn’t miss much, the garden is about worn out from this non-ending heat. 

(From upper L-R across & down: ‘New York’ Asters, Pansies, ‘Kents Beauty’ Oregano, ‘Bluebird’ Asters and ‘Rosy Glow’ Sedums)

Fall blooms are starting to show off in my garden this week.   From the short 6 inch ‘New York’ Asters to the tall 3 foot Aster ‘Bluebird’ I’m pretty convinced I need more of these perennials.  They stood up to the heat, drought and whatever else this summer threw at them.  I might of jumped the gun planting Pansies in September but they have done fine with a bit of water in the morning.  Their all in containers which require more pampering anyhow.   This ornamental oregano ‘Kents Beauty’ is kicking into gear again now that summer is about over here. The actual flowers are the purple tubes between the colorful bracts.  Finally my Sedum ‘Rosy Glow’ has been a trooper putting out sporatic blooms since the first flush last month.  To see what’s blooming in other gardens or to join in, please visit our host Jean @ Ms Greenthumb

note:  We’ve been getting rain since Sunday night.  Last time I checked the rain gauge it was over 2″.  :)

10 responses to this post.

  1. Welcome back. Nice blooms today. I need to go buy some pansys and petunias for some fall/winter color around here. thanks for the reminder.

    Thanks Darla, it’s been fun trying to catch up with everyone. :) You are so welcome.

    Reply

  2. I have been enjoying the rain too, but I hope it was not too late for a couple of things I am keeping an eye on.

    It just started up again Les, where was all this rain when we needed it? ;) I hope so too, my Camelia is looking like it might have succumbed. :(

    Reply

  3. I wish we were getting that much rain. Of course, the weather has turned fall feeling finally and I am so grateful for that.

    Hope you get some of this wet stuff soon! I’m loving the cooler temps too. :)

    Reply

  4. Very nice! I will need to get some pansies soon I guess. The weather just cooled down enough to plant but the rain hasn’t really come. We need some water soon!

    Thanks Dave. I probably should of waited until now to buy & plant my pansies but their doing good. It’s raining cats & dogs here now. Hope you get some soon. :)

    Reply

  5. Your garden doesn’t look worn out! I really must try that oregano as I’m sure both the deer and bunnies would leave it alone.

    We finally got some rain.

    Thanks Cameron, but you’re only seeing the good stuff too. ;) It’s a great plant for a container with the trailing nature. Yep they wouldn’t like it’s oregano scent & taste I bet. Hooray for rain!

    Reply

  6. I don’t have any Asters. I’ve planted a couple before but they didn’t come back. I need to try some more. The oregano is so pretty and interesting to look at. Love it. Welcome back to blogland. Sometimes a break is a good thing. Jean

    Really? I’ve been very pleased with them. Their easier than Mums too. Thanks Jean, it was nice to take a break. :)

    Reply

  7. Your garden doesn’t look tired yet! IT is lovely. How do you do that?
    Paula from Idaho

    Thanks Paula, what a nice compliment. It really looks more tired than these pictures let on. :)

    Reply

  8. Your flowers are beautiful and still going strong, lucky you. The oregano is so interesting, great photo.
    Mary-Frances

    Thanks Mary-Frances. I’m glad you enjoyed the Ornamental Oregano photo. :)

    Reply

  9. Great post…love those fall beauties! I’m always impatient with my Oreganos, I always think, for some reason, that they start blooming earlier in the year!

    Thanks Scott. This is the only Oregano I’ve ever grown, it’s ornamental but I think you could eat it. It really has a nice scent & taste. :)

    Reply

  10. Asters really are a good gift for the fall garden. I love that oregano. I don’t remember if I’ve seen that before. I did have some kind of ornamental oregano awhile back, but I don’t think it was this one. I normally have pansies survive the summer and bloom well in the fall, but this was a hard year for them, and I don’t know if any survived. I hope your plants enjoyed the rain. We had some last week, but not 2 inches.

    I agree Sue and I love them more than Mums. This is a wonderful fairly new cultivar I think (Kent’s Beauty). We are getting even more rain today, about 1-3″, my yard is a soggy mess. Not complaining though after that arid summer we just went through. ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

