If you plant it, they will come

(From upper L-R: Monarch Caterpillar, Butterfly Weed, Milkweed Aphids and Monarch Caterpillar)

It’s inevitable that if you plant Butterfly Weed or Milkweed you will find these critters grazing on your plants.  The Aphids can be chased away with a simple squirt from the garden hose or you can leave them for the Ladybugs to eat.  Either way the cycle of life goes on and on.  My single plant did so well this summer in the garden that I went out and bought two more of these reblooming perennials.  I was going to wait until fall to plant but decided that if I gave them alittle extra attention this month they would probably be fine.  And so far they are doing really well, obviously since the caterpillars are happily munching away on them.  :)

15 responses to this post.

  1. Always in awe … don’t you just love feeding these amazing critters!

    Me too Joey, I’m amazed by these beautiful creatures. :)

    Reply

  2. I can’t wait to grow milkweed next year. Those catepillars are so pretty!

    If you plant it they will be swarm to your garden that’s for sure. :)

    Reply

  3. Yeah for the monach caterpillars! And their food the milkweed of course. Gotta love em..

    Hooray indeed Tina! They are the most interesting little critters. :)

    Reply

  4. I have several milkweed plants and have only seen one monarch caterpillar so far. The fennel is covered with black swallowtail caterpillars though.

    They just started hatching on my Milkweed plants. I saw some eggs too. Now I really need to plant some fennel and or dill next spring. :)

    Reply

  5. And they will reseed everywhere, you may not need to ever buy another one.

    That sounds great to me, I wouldn’t mind some volunteers! ;)

    Reply

  6. Those caterpillars are so cool looking!

    They do have a cool coloration. :)

    Reply

  7. I have seen the caterpillars but not chrysalises or monarch butterflies. You?

    I’ve seen the eggs, caterpillars and butterflies so far. No signs of chrysalises yet though. :)

    Reply

  8. I enjoy seeing those little guys. We have seen a few at work on the fennel. I haven’t had any in my yard this year.

    Me too Susie. I really need to plant some fennel next spring in my garden. :)

    Reply

  9. Wonderful Monarch cats! I had to go out and buy 5 more “emergency” milkweeds on Sunday to feed the hungry cats.

    Thanks Cameron, I was so excited to find these little creatures on my plants. Emergency milkweeds huh? lol ;)

    Reply

  10. Oh my goodness, you are soooo lucky!

    Thanks Dawn, I think so too. :)

    Reply

  11. Ahhh…look at those happy, fat, little caterpillars…so cute!

    Yep they are getting bigger by the moment too. ;)

    Reply

  12. Think I’ll have to try Butterfly Weed again. We’ve had so many different butterflies this year, I’d like to keep them coming. Have to look to see if I have seeds.

    It took me a few tries to get some that were happy in my garden. :)

    Reply

  13. Very nice photos. I just love the monarchs and the catapillars are so interesting.

    Thanks Teresa. They really are interesting aren’t they? :)

    Reply

  14. That’s so awesome Racquel. I’ve never had them in my garden even tho I’ve had butterfly weed for a long time. Good photos too!

    Thanks Kathleen. Really? I would think they would be there if you have their host plant already planted. So weird. I’m very pleased with my photos, thanks. ;)

    Reply

  15. Wow, great shots, Racquel! And how lucky you are to have seen the caterpillars. I’ve seen evidence of their munching, but I haven’t actually seen any Monarch catts. My butterfly weed has done so well this year, though, which reminds me I haven’t gone out to collect some seeds. I hope the rain (hooray!) hasn’t washed them away. Speaking of rain, I hope that you don’t have to worry about Earl in your area.

    Thanks Rose! They must be hiding from you if you’re seeing signs of their munching. ;) I’m hoping mine self sow happily in the garden this year. We’re currently in a Hurricane Warning here, it looks like Earl (winds/rain) should be here sometime late tonight or early tomorrow morning. I’m worried about Hubby since he has work in the AM.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

