Birds and Butterflies

(From upper L-R across & down: Cooper's Hawk, Swallowtail butterflies mating, Goldfinch and Monarch Butterfly)

Another shot of the same Monarch Butterfly

 Sorry about the Hawk shot being so blurry.  I took this through my kitchen window, so that Spaz wouldn’t scare it away.  The Swallowtails were high up in the Pecan tree doing their thing so I had to zoom in to capture them.  ;)  The Monarch wasn’t being too cooperative so I kept a distance and zoomed in as well.  Tried to capture it with the beautiful wingspread but it was flitting about too much.  The Goldfinch was a nice surprise since I haven’t too many of them this summer.  After I took this pic a few more showed up and then Spaz started barking.  She really makes capturing wildlife photos a bit of a challenge.  Have a nice weekend everyone!!!

13 responses to this post.

  1. What a busy garden you have, isn’t it great?

    Yep I enjoy watching the wildlife that visit. :)

    Reply

  2. Not too blurry at all. What fun to see a hawk in your garden!

    You’re too kind, thanks Tina. This was the first one I’ve seen this season.

    Reply

  3. I saw a beautiful Monarch yesterday at work. He was munching on Butterfly bush. They are so pretty!

    Hope you have a great weekend Racquel!

    I’m always so happy when the Monarchs arrive, the Buddleia is their favorite in my garden. Have a nice weekend Susie! :)

    Reply

  4. We finally got our first Monarchs this week. I was so happy to finally see them!

    I haven’t seen too many this year Randy and they arrived late here too.

    Reply

  5. Great photos, Racquel! I’ve found Monarchs are one of the hardest butterflies to photograph–they don’t seem to stay still for long. I can relate to trying to take pictures with a dog around–Sophie likes to chase butterflies:) Thank goodness, she hasn’t caught one yet!

    Thanks Rose. They were more cooperative photo subjects in years past that’s for sure. Good to know I’m not the only one who has a dog that makes it interesting. ;)

    Reply

  6. We have so enjoyed all the butterflies this year. And this morning, there was a house finch in the feeder. I have seen one in quite a while. “Thymes” are changing! :)
    Have a great weekend Racquel!

    Me too, their usually flitting around in the morning and early evening hours. It’s fun to watch them while I sit and chat with my hubby. Have a nice weekend Linda! :)

    Reply

  7. You have lots of wonderful surprises in your garden. :)

    Thanks Nancy, I’m enjoying these visitors. :)

    Reply

  8. Oh I had those through windows and doors too. None of mine even visible enough to see, and yours are though.

    Usually mine are much blurrier than this when taken through the screen. Thanks! :)

    Reply

  9. I like those kind of critters in my garden. Sadly, I only get house sparrows and squirrels and the rare cardinal.

    So sorry to hear that. :(

    Reply

  10. Hi Racquel. You sure have lots of visitors! The hawk is one I can do without ~ luckily I haven’t ever had them visit my garden in the summer months but they do lots of killing here during the winter. I hope they don’t get a goldfinch. I haven’t seen many of those this summer. Has it cooled off any??

    Hi Kathleen, yep I love the wildlife that visits my garden. Even the ones that aren’t so nice like the Hawk. It’s just the way the cycle of life works I guess. Nope I haven’t seen them kill anything in my yard as of yet. It’s cooled off a bit in the mornings, but still quite warm during the day.

    Reply

  11. So pretty…love the goldfinch! I can’t believe you have hawks too…I don’t see them often in our neighborhood…but when they show up it’s pretty impressive…you’ve done a great job encouraging wildlife!

    Thanks Scott. I see them circling in the sky all the time. I’m sure the birdfeeders that attract the smaller birds also attract the Hawks. :(

    Reply

  12. That is one rare hawk sighting! Wow. Amazing. All I can see in my garden are squirrels, raccons and some bigger ones like deers! HAHA. I rarely see one bird drop by and have a rest in my garden. But butterflies often pass by my flowers and also my squashes. Thanks for sharing this post. More please!

    Really? I see Hawks all the time in my area. They are circling above the birdfeeders I have in my garden looking for a tasty treat. ;)

    Reply

  13. Monarch butterflies are my pet too in my garden. They really love the iceberg rose and the orchids. Sometimes hummingbirds are also in the garden and they keep on playing with each other. I never thought of taking them pictures. Maybe someday if I learned how to capture a good angle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

