Bloomin Tuesday

This week for Bloomin’ Tuesday I have mosty shades of pink and purple with a dash of blue, white and yellow thrown in for good measure.  

(From upper L-R across & down: Zinnia oklahoma series, Salvia 'Coral Nymph', Ornamental Oregano 'Kents Beauty', Salvia 'Mystic Spires', Sedum 'Rosy Glow', Penstemon 'Pikes Peak Purple', Hydrangea 'Pinky Winky' and Nasturium 'Peach Melba')

 One of the new things blooming this week is the Salvia ‘Coral Nymph’.  It’s an annual type that The Queen of Seaford  shared seeds of with me during one of our visits last summer.   Don’t you love this soft pink & white combo?   I do!  Definitely will be collecting seed and/or ordering to plant next season.   Currently it resides in a large container with the dormant Snapdragons that will bloom again in the fall.   After a much needed rainfall this past week the Salvia ‘Mystic Spires’ and Penstemon ‘Pike’s Peak’ are in full bloom again.   Both of these are very easy perennials to grow.  This Zinnia (oklahoma series) is a volunteer from last summer and is really do well.  Maybe it will reseed again for me. The ornamental Oregano ‘Kent’s Beauty’ almost succumbed to the heat last month but has bounced back and is blooming now.  ‘Pinky Winky’ still isn’t looking pink to me but the white blooms brighten up the shady corner where it resides.  My sedum ‘Rosy Glow’ that  I mentioned late last month is in full bloom now.   And I finally got a photo of a Nasturium ‘Peach Melba’ flower fully open.  I love the little orange spots on the face of it. To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week on the fun please visit Jean @ Ms Greenthumb.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Your salvia is very pretty. This is one plant I don’t have many of so I need to change it. That was nice of Janet to share with you.

    Thanks Tina, I was lucky to get some of this seed for free. I ordered more since I love it so much. ;)

    Reply

  2. I can’t believe you still have nasturtiums blooming. They can’t handle our heat here.

    I was surprised too Susie, they haven’t been loving our hot summer this year.

    Reply

  3. That is a very pretty salvia. I’ll bet the hummingbirds love it, too. Lots of rain here last night and cooler temps today.

    Thanks Cameron, yep I’ve seen them buzzing it this weekend. Same weather here, it didn’t rain much last night but it’s sprinkling this morning. :)

    Reply

  4. Lots of lovely blooms for this hot, dry August, Racquel. I do love that coral salvia, such a different color from most salvias. And the nasturtium is such a pretty color as well. My sedum hasn’t even started to turn colors yet.

    Thanks Rose, I’m pleased every week when I have something to share for BT. Me too, it’s a nice change from the typical shades of purple or pink. That’s what makes BT so much fun to see how different areas of the country have different things blooming. :)

    Reply

  5. Oh so many beautiful blooming flowers! Thanks for visiting!

    Thank you RBL, it was a pleasure. :)

    Reply

  6. You always have such neat blooms !

    Aw, that’s so sweet! Thanks Darla. :)

    Reply

  7. Those are some beauties you have. Love the way you did your collage. Pretty zinnia.

    Thanks Becca, I’m glad you enjoyed my collage of blooms today. :)

    Reply

  8. They are all so lovely! I love the penstemon. I need to do some research and see if it will grow in my area…

    Thanks Alea. Hope that your research pays off, this one is my easiest and it’s a rebloomer! :)

    Reply

  9. I agree with everything you said about your blooms. Love the pink and white and the oregano. Lovely colors still going on at your place! Jean

    Thanks Jean. I’m enjoying these cooler colors with it being so hot right now. :)

    Reply

  10. Love the pinks & purples Racquel. Your limelight hydrangea from the previous post is outstanding too. I’d love to have so many blooms to dry and cut.
    I bought a ‘Kent’s Beauty’ ornamental oregano last year but it didn’t survive the winter. I really like the texture of it ~ seeing yours makes me want another.
    I can see why you like ‘Coral Nymph’ ~ she’s beautiful. I might have to order some seed too!

    Thanks Kathleen. I am so happy with my ‘Limelight’, it’s such a great focal point in my garden. Of course I rarely cut the blossoms since I like to enjoy them outside, lol. ;) Sorry to hear that, mine is in a pot and I brought it in to the garage over the winter to protect it. Supposibly it’s hardy here planted in the ground. It’s a cool plant that’s for sure. Hope you do order some seed, I got mine through Johnny’s Seeds.

    Reply

  11. lovely blosssoms! Your collage is beautiful.

    Thank you Meredehuit, glad you enjoyed my collage of blooms. :)

    Reply

  12. Your flowers look great! I love the colors.

    Thank you Laurie, glad you enjoyed my blooms. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

