Bloomin Tuesday

It’s another Bloomin’ Tuesday and this week I have some yellow and blueish purple blooms to show you.  My favorite color combinations in the garden.  :)

(From upper L-R across & down: Four o'Clocks, Catmint 'Walker's Low' center photo, Solidago, Society Garlic, Balloon Flower, Green Coneflowers and Lantana 'Miss Huff')

I’m just so thankful to have blooms in the garden this month, August can be a beast.  But we’ve been having some occasional rain showers which has perked things up a bit.   The Balloon Flower bloom was a surprise since they finished up their flush in June.  My Green Coneflowers or Rudbeckia laciniata are open now and I love their green center that changes color with age.  Solidago is getting ready to come into full flush.  I could of sworn this cultivar was ‘Fireworks’ but after seeing that variety in other gardens I’m not so sure what mine is now.  Society Garlic has been blooming on and off since the end of June.  This is the second season for it in the garden and I really like it.  Couldn’t imagine my beds without this fabulous Lantana ‘Miss Huff’.  The butterflies and hummers have been flocking to her this summer.   Catmint is a new addition that is still sitting in it’s nursery pot on the patio.  Hope to have it planted next month.  Last but not least is these yellow and hot pink Four o’ Clocks.  Their a bit of a weed in my garden sometimes with the abundance of seeds they drop.  But I love how you can have pink, yellow and mixed all on one plant.  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in today please visit our host Ms Greenthumb.

15 responses to this post.

  1. I have messed around only a little with lantana. Miss Huff looks cool as does the rest of your photo.

    She’s the only known hardy one for my zone 7b garden. I’m still looking for more though, such a easy plant. And drought tolerant! ;)

    Reply

  2. I love the pictures combined to one. I will have to try that some time. The colors of your blooms make a beautiful picture. The solidago is being added to my list. I always enjoy visiting your blog.

    Thanks Sherry. It’s really easy, I use a program called Photoscape that I downloaded from the internet for free. I’m very happy with this color combo too. :)

    Reply

  3. Beautiful combos. I can see why you love them, Racquel.

    Thanks Joey, that’s so sweet. :)

    Reply

  4. A lovely collage. One of my favorite color combinations in a garden is yellow and blue/purple as well! Just beautiful!

    Thanks Suzanne. It’s the perfect combo in my opinion. I’ve devoted a whole bed to this color combination. :)

    Reply

  5. Yes it is lovly to have all that flowers in August. MB

    Thank you Maria, I’m grateful for my August blooms. :)

    Reply

  6. Nice collection Racquel. I like blues and yellows too!

    Thank you Susie, yep my favorite color combo of all. :)

    Reply

  7. Ummmm…love all that yellow! My favorite colors in the garden are yellow and red with a touch of blue (lavender) . Your flowers are looking great!!

    Thanks Linda, that’s a striking trio of colors that you like. :)

    Reply

  8. Your blues and yellows look wonderful. I brought a ‘Fireworks’ with me and it is one of the few plants that didn’t make it! :-(
    I like your new page layout/color. Your garden is always so pretty, I look forward to getting back into blogging so I can see what you have blooming.
    Your phlox made it and am trying to figure out a good place in the garden for it.

    Hi there! Thanks Janet, it’s my favorite color combo of all. Sorry to hear about your Solidago, that’s a shame. Glad to know the Phlox survived, it gets about 3 feet tall and loves sun-part sun. Hope you find a great spot for it where you can enjoy it’s spicy scent. Oh thank you, I’m loving this new theme. Kept it for awhile now, lol. Hope you are able to come back to blogging on a regular basis soon, we miss you! :)

    Reply

  9. I like the color combos too. My favorite is dark blue plumbago and the red dragonwings. I haven’t tried lantana either, but have heard good things about it here in North Texas. August is just killing my gardens. We’ve had something like 15 days over 100 degrees with no end in sight. Water, water, water:)

    I would of never thought of combining those two colors, sounds interesting. They would thrive in your Texas heat (Lantana). They don’t mind drought either. I know what you mean, we’ve been having a similar summer too. :)

    Reply

  10. Posted by skeeter on August 17, 2010 at 11:46 am

    August is such a tough month on flowers! On our recent trips to Lowes, I make sure we dont walk in through the garden center. I am too tempted to buy something and not a great time to plant in this hot humid sticky ick of the year! I did not think about getting a few plants and waiting until next month as your below post, hum.

    It’s a beast indeed Skeeter. Yep I was avoiding the garden center until recently. This time next month I will be stocking up hopefully. ;)

    Reply

  11. Great color combos indeed. August has been a bear everywhere-I just heard on the weather that it has been like the hottest summer ever in the US-now that is hot! Thank goodness for the occasional rains you are getting.

    Thanks Tina. Wow I didn’t realize that this was the hottest summer on record for the US! It sure seemed that way to me though… ;)

    Reply

  12. The color combo does look great. I’ve never tried 4 o’clocks but I do like the yellow pink palette.Awesome bloomers! Jean

    Thanks Jean, and thanks for hosting as usual. :) Oh 4 o’clocks are easy. If you want I can save you some seed. They are so easy to grow.

    Reply

  13. Your flowers are lovely! It does seem like the flowers are a little thin in my yard too… Soon it will cool off and we will see lots more blooms!

    Yep it’s just been so hot and dry this summer that it’s a wonder that anything is blooming. Can’t wait for the cooler days of fall to get here. :)

    Reply

  14. Like you, I can’t imagine a garden without Miss Huff.

    Yep she’s a great plant for our summers regardless what they bring. ;)

    Reply

  15. I love the blue/yellow combo, too. I grew lantana one year in containers and I really liked it. It’s not very common in cold climates like mine.

    Thanks Zoey. There are alot of annual types of Lantana. Miss Huff is the only one that is hardy in my area (that I’m aware of that is). :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

