Hostas

(From upper L-R across & down: unknown Hosta blooms, unknown lime Hosta, 'Red October' Hosta, unknown dwarf Hosta, row of 'Royal Standard' Hostas, stems of 'Red October' Hosta, unknown lemony lime hosta, and unknown variegated hosta)

Don’t you get excited each spring when the first furled Hosta leaves start poking through the soil?  I know I do because what’s not to love about these beautiful shade loving foliage plants.  Yes I realize they have blooms and some of them are actually worth the attention.  But my favorite part has to be the leaves whether they be large, small, green, yellow, blue or patterned.  Now the blooms on my Royal Standard are a big plus since they are quite large and very fragrant.  But for the most part I’m not that impressed with the blooms on some of my Hostas.  This unknown Limey green one has pretty white flowers with just a hint of lavender around the edges, no scent that I noticed though.  The stems are quite sturdy which keeps them upright vs laying on the ground to be run over by a runaway lawnmower.  ;)   I don’t remember if ‘Red October’ bloomed last year which was the first season in the garden, but the stems are pretty cool huh?  Some of the Hostas in my garden were purchased as a grab bag type deal at the end of a season so I don’t know the names and some were long forgotten.  That’s one of the perks of blogging, it has helped me keep track of new additions and their ids.  Plus for the past 2 years I have been documenting new purchases in a journal which includes where they were planted.  Anyhow just thought I would pay a small tribute to one of my favorite perennials in the garden. 

12 responses to this post.

  1. Racquel, I’m just beginning to discover the fun of hostas and oh boy! you’ve certainly featured a whole host of them! I’ve seen just one type of hosta here and now it looks like I’ll have to go hunting for more ;D

    Their a great plant blooms or no blooms Sunita. :) Glad I could give you a view of some more varieties.

    Reply

  2. Racquel – I remember those pointy little green heads in early spring…those were the days of shade in the glade!

    You really should come down to Chapel Hill and go to Bob Solberg’s (hostahosta dot com) nursery. I used to get all of my hostas from him as far back as twenty years ago. Back in those days, he’d send me a postcard in the mail for the weekends that he was open for business.

    I wish it was spring still, it’s been so hot lately. That would be wonderful if I could get up to Chapel Hill for a visit to the Nursery and with you. :)

    Reply

  3. Glad to see there’s another hosta fanatic out there. I’m always adding to my collection and have found my next one in “October Sky”. Love the red stems – so different for a hosta.

    Yep I love me some Hosta. :) Oh Red October is a great one, I was lucky to find mine at Wally World last season.

    Reply

  4. Awesome hostas. I like them all in a row for sure. Red October is way cool!

    Thanks Tina, those are doing really well inspite of this heat too. Yep I love those red stems. ;)

    Reply

  5. I love hosta, too, Racquel. You have a nice variety there…all looking great! I like to divide them when they get huge, and scatter them around the gardens. I did a bit of that this past week. Even when in bloom, they’re survivors when divided. Some plants don’t like being cut up and transplanted but hosta’s are strong workhorses in the garden!

    Thanks Jan, they are a great plant for the shade. :) Yeah I do the same thing with mine except for these large ones since I love how full they look in this bed.

    Reply

  6. They are a fav of mine too but unfortunately I don’t have any.

    How come? Not enough shade in your yard?

    Reply

  7. Yes, I get excited each spring where I see those shoots coming out of the ground. Very hardy plants that can be divided are a keeper for this gardener.

    I think their a must have for any garden, especially if you have the right light conditions. :)

    Reply

  8. I love hosta blooms. I know many people don’t care about them, but I think they’re sweet.

    I like some of them, like the fragrant ones or the ones with substancial blooms. :)

    Reply

  9. I love hostas, too. I have a row of them bordering a fence. The area was shaded most of the day until this year. Our neighbor decided to cut down all of the small trees (dogwood, sassafras, maple) on the other side of the fence and in the process changed our shade bed into one that’s practically full sun. The hostas are not happy. I will have to move them.

    That’s a shame that your neighbor cut down all those great trees, hope you find a nice new spot for them. :)

    Reply

  10. I agree, blogging has helped me alot with bloom schedules and even finding the names of daylilies I planted and did not record.

    Your hostas are lovely. I like the blooms but hate all the cutting back of scapes when they finish.
    Marnie

    It really has made me feel more organized that’s for sure. :) Thanks Marnie, yep that’s my least favorite thing too.

    Reply

  11. Racquel, I am a big hosta fan, too! I also get excited each spring when the first green shoots begin popping through the ground. I do enjoy the blooms, but I see them as just an added bonus in the summer. But I really like the stems of ‘Red October’–a nice contrast to all the green. Most of my hostas, though, are the unnamed variety–besides buying some grab bag bargains, I’ve divided several of them so often that I don’t remember what was planted where:)

    Yep so exciting seeing all that fresh new growth pushing up through the soil. :) Don’t get me wrong I like the blooms but mainly I buy the plants for their pretty foliage. ‘Red October’ has the added bonus of having interesting stems to boot.

    Reply

  12. I must be the only gardener that can’t grow hostas.

    And with all that shade you have going on in your yard? ;) Don’t worry, I’ve lost a few myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

