Progress of New Additions

Cimifuga 'Hillside Black Beauty', Acanthus, Pulmonaria 'Raspberry Splash' and Eucomis comosa)

 Here are a few of the new additions to my garden in 2009.   For the most part I’m quite pleased with how they are progressing so far in the garden.  Some perennials grow quickly in one season while others take a few years to mature.  I thought I would give you an update on how they are doing so far.  The Cimifuga is growing extremely slowly and I’m not sure I picked the best spot for it since it prefers a moist location.  I’m considering moving it this fall to a bare spot by the birdbath in the Hydrangea Bed.  This spot stays damp from me emptying out the birdbath when I fill it with fresh water daily.  Acanthus was a bonus plant that happened to be in the same pot of something else I was purchasing at the Learning Garden Plant Sale last year which you can read about here.  It was a very small division that has at least doubled if not tripled in size since last May.  After seeing so many posts about Pulmonaria in other blogs over the past couple of years I knew I had to have one for my shade garden.  It bloomed this year which wasn’t that spectacular in my opinion but the foliage is pretty interesting so I’m happy with it.  The Eucomis or Pineapple Lily overwintered with no problems to my surprise.  I’ve tried this plant in the past with not much success after one season.  I’m hoping it likes it’s new location which gives it morning sun followed by afternoon shade.  After I made this collage I remembered there was one more plant I wanted to show you so here it is below:

Brunnera 'Jack Frost'

 I had wanted at least one of these shade loving perennials for sometime.  But I found them to be quite expensive.  Imagine my surprise when I got a buy one get one free at a discounted price online last spring.  Of course I went for it.  They were quite tiny so I planted them together for the time being.  Down the road I can always divide it and make more additions for other areas.  It already bloomed earlier last month and the tiny blue flowers were quite pretty.  But I’ll be honest I wanted it for the foliage which really lights up a dark spot under the Crepe Myrtle in my Woodland Garden bed.  Please ignore the wild Violet growing thru it.  That was pulled right after I took this photo.  I leave a few in my garden but they are quite invasive and take over if allowed.  Notice the leaves are the same shape, lol.  :)

12 responses to this post.

  1. Racquel girl these all look great (including the wild violet with the same shape as Jack ! haha). I bought my first pulmonaria this year too .. Moonshine .. for more silver foliage in my shade garden which is becoming much more shadier/darker ?
    I now have 3 Jack Frost, Mr. Morse, King’s Ransom, Silver Lining (which is a brand new one for me !) and a few others which I can’t remember right now .. I have been awake since 4 AM .. that head cold is coming back .. drats !
    I also have quite a few bugbane including Hillside Black Beauty, Brunette, Pink Spike, White Pearl .. well .. you get the idea ? when I love a plant I try to collect a few different ones .. and they are VERY slow growers but have patience girl .. they will look great .. the problem with trying to move them is their long tap root .. if you disturb it too much, they quit on you ! voice of experience ! LOL
    A friend of mine bout Raspberry Splash and she loves it : ) .. I have always wondered about acanthus .. but no room for it now, so I will be watching yours girl !
    Great plants and a BIG wow ! to your blog looking spectacular : ) as you can guess .. brown background is a favorite of mine ? LOL
    Joy

    LOL, do you think their related with those similar leaf shapes or is the Wild Violet trying to fit in? ;) I’ll have to look into adding a couple more of the Pulmonarias & Brunneras to my garden as well Joy. I’m hooked on cool foliage and sometimes forget the bloom color, ha. Thanks for the tips on the Bugbane. It’s fairly small now so it might not be to bad at this point moving it. Of course I’ve moved a Peony (which turned out well) and they have tap roots too. I’ve heard the Acanthus can get quite large but the area it is in will allow for the height and those blooms are pretty spectacular (hope I get them soon). This theme is pretty cool cause you can upload all types of backgrounds from pictures to patterned wallpapers etc. I’m digging the brown right now. :)

    Reply

  2. PS .. Racquel where did you find that widget that highlights the days you posted out of the month ? That is so cool !! I want it too ! LOL

    That calender is a widget on WordPress, you might be able google Blogger widgets to see if they have one for their blogs. :)

    Reply

  3. I really like the ‘Jack Frost’, as well as your new look. Have a great weekend!

    Thank you Les, I hope you have a wonderful weekend as well. :)

    Reply

  4. The brunnea reminds me of caladiums. All plants are so healthy looking.
    I really like the new look of your blog. You do such a good job with blogging. I always look so forward to my visit ! :)
    Have a great weekend Racquel!

    Yep the veining is very much like Caladiums. Thanks Linda for all the nice compliments. You made me smile. :) Have a wonderful weekend!

    Reply

  5. Hi Racquel! Acanthus as a bonus plant? Lucky you! I love acanthus. I noticed that, very often, weeds tend to grow near those plants which look similar. I think plants are smart!

    Hi Tatyana! Yep I found it very lucky coincidence to get this as my bonus plant. It comes down to a matter of survival I guess, lol. :)

    Reply

  6. The wild violet actually goes well with Jack. Don’t blame you for pulling it though. You got a great pulmonaria.

    Yep it sure did, but I just knew it would take over and kill Jack out if I let it stay. Thanks Tina, I’m very happy with my pick. :)

    Reply

  7. Looks like things are settling in nicely. I think you might be right about the cimicifuga – it needs moisture to really thrive. My favorite of this collection is definetly the pulmonaria – I bet it looked fantastic when it bloomed – love the variegated leaves with the multi coloured blossoms.

    Thanks Heather, I’m very pleased with the progress of these new additions so far. :) I’ll just have to make sure that my Bugbane gets alittle extra water I guess. The blooms are a hot pink, pretty but I still love the foliage the best.

    Reply

  8. Lookin’ good Racquel. Your Acanthus is really coming along. :-)

    Thanks Janet, I’m pleased that it is thriving. :)

    Reply

  9. I like the Bears Breeches myself. I planted them once but they never came back.

    I hope mine actually blooms someday. I think the flowers are cool looking. :)

    Reply

  10. Awww, the Jack Frost is so beautiful. I really love it.

    Me too. It’s a very pretty foliage plant with bonus flowers. :)

    Reply

  11. You have chosen very interesting plants!

    Acanthus blooms in so many shady nooks along the southern coast of France. I couldn’t get any good photos as I took my tiny point-and-shoot instead of being weighed down with my larger camera.

    Thanks Cameron. I’ve seen the blooms online and they are pretty interesting looking. I’ll have to stop by and see your photos. :)

    Reply

  12. I’d say they all look great Racquel. I’ve tried to grow Acanthus here but it never overwinters. I’d also love a Eucomis but I know I’d have to bring that indoors during the winter for sure! My advice would be to move the cimicifuga (if you want my advice!!). I had one that sort of sat for years until I moved it then it took off. It’s never looked better than this spring.

    Thanks Kathleen. I feel very fortunate that so many things will overwinter here. Thanks for the advice, I think it will be best to move it too. I hate to see it just sit there for years and do nothing. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

