November Blooms (GBBD 11-15-09)

GBBD page

Well I finally remembered it was the 15th of the month, which means it is Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day.  After not participating for a few months due to family stuff and mainly forgetfulness I was happy to get a post together today.  November is a month of cooler temps and lingering blooms in my zone 7-8 garden (check to see what your zone is here).  Somethings will continue to push out a few blooms right through December.  To see what’s blooming in other gardens all over the world or to join in on the fun please visit our gracious host Carol @May Dreams Gardens

update:  For those of you who are wondering about how my yard handled the Nor’Easter that passed through this week I was very fortunate.  Other than a few dead limbs from the Pecan Tree, leaf debris and a soggy yard that’s all I substained.  Unfortunately some of my neighbors weren’t so lucky.  There are some cases of roof damage in my neighborhood from trees snapping due to tropical storm strength winds.  I don’t live in a flood zone so that wasn’t an issue for us either.  I’ve been having computer problems so this post that was created ahead of time posted before I could finish the link.  This morning I was busy trying to backup all my photos and other important info to an external harddrive incase this one crashes permanently. 

40 responses to this post.

  1. I am greatly impressed with your pictures. you are lucky, you can have blooming flowers now. thanks for pleasure.

    Thank you Alexandra. I’m glad you enjoyed my collage of blooms. Thanks for stopping by today. :)

    Reply

  2. What a colorful collage! Have you had a frost yet? I haven’t, but I have had other weather events.

    Thanks Les. Nope no frost here yet. Just a soggy mess after the storm. ;)

    Reply

  3. Nice collage Racquel, and again…love the new look. May get out to do bloom day later today.

    Thanks Janet, I’m happy with the new look too. Look forward to seeing your GBBD post. :)

    Reply

  4. Firstly, I’m amazed at how much more you still have blooming than I do, even though you can’t be more than one zone warmer than me. And secondly, I love the collage–so bright and cheery, perfect for this day! :)

    I think we might be more like 2 zones warmer now. But in the next few weeks all of these will be long gone. Thanks Monica I’m glad you enjoyed the collage.

    Reply

  5. Such beautiful blooms! I really like this collage. Looks like spring there. I hope the storms didn’t harm you so much. Janet and Les have gotten hammered. Very scary indeed. Take care!

    Thanks Tina. I’m just happy to see the sun shining again after days of nothing but rain & wind. I faired way better than Janet & Les. Just some dead branches, leaf debris and pecan shells to rake up. After the ground dries up a bit. ;)

    Reply

  6. Lots of color still blooming in your garden, Racquel! I’m wondering, too, if you had any storm damage in your area. I hadn’t been paying attention to the weather in other parts of the country until I saw Janet’s recent post. I hope it missed you.

    Thanks Rose. As I mentioned to Tina I got off easy compared to my fellow bloggers. Luckily I don’t live close to water or in a floor zone.

    Reply

  7. Nice display! Happy GBBD. H.

    Reply

  8. You really have alot of things blooming Racquel..and your new camera takes fantastic pictures! Wow!
    Glad you didn’t get hit too badly. It is so warm here, but I hear there is a cold front on the way. It’s about time for us to finally get some lower temps.

    Reply

  9. You still have some gorgeous blooms..glad the storm didn’t do too much damage….rooting your mexican bush sage………..

    Reply

  10. Pretty blooms Racquel. Glad to hear you survived the weather. I had definitely been wondering about you. Sorry to hear about your neighbors tho. Those winds can be really tough!

    Reply

  11. I’m glad you weathered the storm okay Racquel. My Aunt lives in Salisbury, Maryland and she said it just poured and blew like crazy. Hopefully you’ll dry out & calm down now.
    I’m amazed at how many blooms you still have in your garden. The pansy in the upper left corner is really eye-catching. I keep forgetting to participate too.

    Reply

  12. Beautiful collage Racquel, you have so many lovely blooms on this GBBD and it is November!
    xoxo Tyra

    Reply

  13. I enjoyed your collage. Thanks for the update on the storm. What a deal! I hope everyone’s clean up goes well.

    Reply

  14. Posted by Racquel on November 16, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Sorry I haven’t been able to respond to all your comments. My computer is on the fritz at the moment. I’m glad everyone enjoyed my collage of blooms. Thanks Darla for the cuttings. :)

    Reply

  15. Racquel, beautiful blooms as always!

    Reply

  16. Love this collage.. So glad to hear that you are safe.
    Balisha

    Reply

  17. What a wonderful November bloom collection! So sorry to hear about your computer problems~~Good idea to backup data…It would be terrible to lose all your photos and data! gail

    Reply

  18. Happy Thanksgiving, Racquel. Please send best wishes to your Mom.
    Balisha

    Reply

  19. Happy Thanksgiving Racquel!

    Reply

  20. Thinking of you and sending hellos! gail

    Reply

  21. Hope things are going well with you, Racquel!

    Reply

  22. You are missed around blogland, hope and pray things are okay for you and yours!

    Reply

  23. Hope things are good. Hope to see you here again sooooonnn!!!

    Reply

  24. Hi Racquel–hope things are ok with you..just wanted to say hello and Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  25. Merry Christmas Racquel! I have enjoyed your posts this past year and look forwarding to reading more in 2010. H

    Reply

  26. Wishing you a blessed Christmas, Racquel, and peace, health and happiness in the New Year for you and your family.

    Reply

  27. Hi Racquel, I’ve missed your posts…. I wish you the very best for the coming year. Happy New Year!

    P.S. I’ve moved to WordPress now.

    Reply

  28. Posted by greenwalks on December 28, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    Hey Racquel – just wanted to say belated Merry Christmas and wishing you a more peaceful year this year than you may have had in 2009. We miss you but hope you will be back to blogland someday!

    Reply

  29. Happy New Year! Hope you and your family and doing well. We miss you!

    Cheers,
    Cameron

    Reply

  30. Happy New Year, Raquel, hope all is well and you are staying warm and cozy in the freezing cold. Wishing you lots of joy and peace in the coming year. Blessings, Meems

    Reply

  31. Hi Racquel, was just thinking about my blog friends in VA and knew I hadn’t heard from you in a while. Hope all is well;-)

    Reply

  32. We miss you and pray all is well.

    Reply

  33. It’s me again, just checking in…

    Reply

  34. lovelovelove those colors… great pic!

    Reply

  35. Still checking to see if you’ve updated. We hope all is well.

    Take care,
    Cameron

    Reply

  36. Racquel I sure hope all is well.

    Reply

  37. Hi Racquel,
    I want to add my hope to others’ that things are going OK for you. I have been busy and not keeping up well, but still getting on as much as it works out to.

    I don’t remember what zone you are in. Here in my zone 5b, it’s been quite cold, but the highs this week have been above freezing, and by the weekend, we could see 50s. I am so ready for spring!

    Closing in a prayer for you,
    Sue

    Reply

  38. Hi Racquel,
    It’s been a while and like the others I just wanted to tell you I think about you often and hope everything is ok. Spring is almost here..I hope we hear from your perennial garden soon! :)
    Hugs,
    Linda

    Reply

  39. Racquel, we miss you and hope you are doing okay. Have imagined all sorts of things…wishing you well.

    Reply

  40. We miss you! Sending prayers your way, God knows your needs…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

