Archive for September 13th, 2009

Fall Containers continued…

Fall Container Plantings continued page

Last week I showed you my fall containers that I had potted up.  Here’s an update on the Snapdragons  in my patio container showing what’s started blooming thus far.  This soft pink color looks great with the existing dwarf caladiums.   And the red washtub has been planted with some fall pansies that will give color to the garden through next spring.  This red shade looks great but I might pick up a 6 pk of solid yellow or orange for some contrast.  I’ve decided to make this a seasonal container from here on out.  Next May I will exchange the cool season Pansies for some summer lovers like Angelina and/or Nasturiums.  It should be fun experimenting from season to season with different displays.  I like the effect that a single specimen or color can make, but it will be nice to mix things up a bit with some combinations too.   Plus I finally was able to get some looseleaf lettuce planted in the Lettuce bowl container between rainshowers.  This is my favorite variety ‘Black-seeded Simpson’.  I also need to plant a gourmet blend (which includes Prizeleaf, Royal Oakleaf, Red Salad Bowl and Ashley) like asap.   Hope everyone is having a nice weekend in the garden…