Plant ID?

photos 002Can anyone out there in garden blogging land help me identify this please?  This mystery vine is coming through my fence from the neighbor’s garden.  It doesn’t appear to be poison ivy and that has been a nuisance in the past don’t get me wrong.  I’ve been a bit leary about touching it nonetheless.  Next time I see my neighbor I’ll mention it to him.  I don’t want to bother him since one of my wandering vines has creeped into his garden too. :)

photos 004

‘Sweet Autumn’ Clematis or Clematis terniflora has jumped into the overgrown Nandinas and is blooming it’s heart out right now.  He hasn’t complained or whacked it back this summer yet.  :)

22 responses to this post.

  1. Is it Virginia creeper?

    Looks like you’re right Pam, thanks for taking a guess. :)

    Reply

  2. Yes, Pam is right, Virginia Creeper.

    Thanks Janet, I knew you would know for sure. :)

    Reply

  3. Love the autumn clemmie. Yep, it’s Virginia creeper, a native plant far beyond Virginny. At least I think it is–it looks glossier and thicker than ones I’ve seen and the leaf margin is not as serrated as what I’ve seen…

    Thanks Monica. I was suspecting it might be but not sure. :)

    Reply

  4. I love Virginia creeper but it does get big. Such beautiful fall color! Do you have a good space and support for it?

    Actually it’s growing on my neighbor’s side of the fence so I wasn’t planning on keeping it. I don’t think I have a strong enought trellis for it.

    Reply

  5. Looks like Virginia creeper to me to.

    Thanks Deb. :)

    Reply

  6. i wished i could have grown clematis in our hot climate. It is one of the most fragrant among other clematis. love your blog.

    It is truly a nice plant especially in late summer & early fall. Thanks Muhammad. :)

    Reply

  7. Racquel, I actually knew what your mystery plant is too! I think it can be pretty invasive, so if you don’t like it grwoing through to your side- give it a good trimming. It won’t hurt it a bit and may help yo make it bushier and your neighbor’s side.

    I was just wondering the other day if your Sweet Autumn was blooming yet. I hace seen it here it all it’s glory. A local garden center is supposed to have lots this fall for planting. Can’t wait! :)

    Thanks for the tip Beckie, I will be getting out there today to cut it back so it doesn’t take over my side of the fence. :) I went back to last summer and it seems to be right on target for blooms. This spring I saw a bunch of it in stock at the local big box stores which was a first so it must be easier to obtain now. Hope you find you a nice specimen.

    Reply

  8. Racquel I too have Virginia Creeper aka a cultivar also called Engelmann Ivy .. it is very aggressive and one I have to keep in check .. BUT .. it is a wonderful privacy screen and sound baffle working plant .. plus the colours it turns into during Autumn are simply stunning .. gorgeous scarlets with deep blue berries the birds love to eat !
    Joy

    Thanks for the heads up Joy, I don’t need any thugs in my garden. Sweet Autumn Clematis is voracious enough for me. ;)

    Reply

  9. Well everyone else beat me to it~~~~

    LOL, that’s okay Darla. Thanks for taking a peek anyhow. :)

    Reply

  10. Virginia Creeper without a doubt.. One thing about this plant, sometimes the first few leaves only have three, making it seem like poison ivy. While this has been a banner year for poison ivy, looking carefully at Virginia Creeper until more leaves form will save you from some terror filled moments as it seems Poison Plants are taking over the entire yard! The VC turns a wonderful reddish fall color. So does Poison Ivy. :-)
    Frances

    Thanks for the heads up Frances. I did notice that the first few leaves gave it a strong resemblance to the dreaded Poison Ivy. I’ve been lucky in the past and had no reaction when I’ve come in contact with that thug, but things can change on a dime.

    Reply

  11. To me even though it has the characteristic five leaves of Virginia creeper those leaves look to be of healthier stock than the Virginia creeper I know but it’s hard for me to tell. VC grows-a lot! it is most pretty in the fall and when it finally gets mature it actually even blooms.

    My neighbor’s garden seems to attract healthy invaders that try to jump the fence into my garden all the time. ;)

    Reply

  12. Well, there are alot of knowledgeable gardeners out there. It is good to know if I have a mystery plant that there will be someone who can identify it. I agree with Beckie,it is quite invasive with me. It seems that every berry the birds miss eating, germinates. But it is beautiful.

    Garden bloggers are the best! They love to help & share the knowledge with each other. :)

    Reply

  13. I can’t imagine anyone wanting to whack back the clematis. It’s beautiful! I thought VA creeper had a little jagged edge leaf. But I’m not sure.

    Me neither, but it doesn’t seem to bother the plant. I give it severe haircuts up till July to keep it inline. This tendril seemed to escape my notice, lol. There seems to be different types, but that’s a good question Susie. :)

    Reply

  14. It’s Virginia Creeper! Echo Echo Echo

    Looks like I got here late! The clematis looks great.

    LOL that’s okay Dave, thanks for stopping by. :)

    Reply

  15. Posted by Joanne on August 27, 2009 at 9:26 am

    It’s Virginia Creeper (echo again)

    One thing I’ve noticed is that Virginia Creeper often grows near poison ivy. They like the same sun exposure.

    Thanks Joanne for the tips. :)

    Reply

  16. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on August 27, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Every unidentified vine looks like poison ivy to me and I have hubby pull it out.
    Donna

    I don’t blame you Donna. :)

    Reply

  17. Hi Racquel,
    I wanted Virginia Creeper for my woods…so I bought some starts of the vine. I had been pulling out vines to make room for these. Come to find out, I was pulling out Virginia Creeper….here I wouldn’t have had to buy any…I had them all the time.
    Balisha

    Isn’t that funny Balisha. :) I had the same thing with my Sweet Autumn Clematis, I didn’t know the id on mine until a couple of years ago. ;)

    Reply

  18. Virginia Creeper is a lovely native vine – growing up a really tall tree. I have some in full shade against a fence & it requires serious whacking to keep it in line. In full sun, the red fall color will glow.

    Hmm…I wonder if my Sweetgum would be a good natural trellis for this vine. Thanks MMD. :)

    Reply

  19. Looks like you had lots of help id’ing it Racquel. I was going to say the same as I just spent a lot of time pulling a bunch of it out of my evergreens. They grow like crazy and cover both trees if I’m not vigilant. The birds love the berries on it tho so if it’s someplace where it won’t be a problem, it might be nice to have? Also, like someone else mentioned, the fall color is gorgeous.

    Yep I knew you guys & gals wouldn’t let me down. :) I was wondering after MMD’s comment about maybe my Sweetgum which grows straight up and is quite tall.

    Reply

  20. No idea what the plant is but … why do they always do this? My bougainvilleas all bloom on my neighbou’s side of the wall. Maybe they’re trying to set an example?

    That’s a good question Sunita, I have to go on the other side of the fence to enjoy my blooms now. ;)

    Reply

  21. Isn’t it great to have so many gardening experts available for help? I had no idea what this vine was. But I can understand why your neighbor isn’t complaining about your creeping vine:) Unfortunately, Racquel, the seed for the sweet autumn you gave me never germinated, and the cuttings I took from my son’s garden didn’t root either. I think I’m going to look for it at the garden center Beckie mentioned; you know I’ve always wanted this plant!

    They are the best that’s for sure Rose. Sorry to hear about SAC not germinating. Hope you & Beckie find some nice transplants of it in the Garden Center. :)

    Reply

  22. Posted by Racquel on August 28, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    Looks like the mystery has been cleared up, lol. Thanks everyone!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

