The birds and the beans?

Yard Long IndeedWell today I realized how this bean came by its’ name (Yardlong Bean).  This one is at least 18″ long at the moment.  There are at least 3 more smaller ones forming as we speak.  Now I just need to come up with some tasty recipes for it.  Any suggestions?New bird feeder 001

I picked up this birdfeeding station yesterday.  Now I can put out twice as much nyger seed for my favorite backyard visitors, the goldfinches.  The dome acts as a reservoir and sort of a rain guard.  It’s so big I had to mount it to this tree.  Now I just have to sit back and enjoy the activity, which shouldn’t be too hard with the swing close by.  :)

30 responses to this post.

  1. I have those beans and also the red variety (red noodle). Kids eat them raw.

    Reply

  2. Posted by greenwalks on August 1, 2009 at 2:33 am

    I wonder if Matron at Down on the Allotment would have any suggestions for recipes? I know she grows those beans. Any Asian food cookbooks or Chinese recipe sites might have suggestions as well. I might have to make space for those next year, they are so cool-looking! Curious how the taste compares to just regular string beans. Your bird feeder is very futuristic, looks like some kind of space station! I’m sure the birds will enjoy it at least half as much as you do. :)

    Reply

  3. Wow! That looks like something Jack (of the magic beans fame) would be familiar with. I’m sure you’re going to enjoy your bean fest.
    And it looks like you’re going to have fun with that bird feeder. I hope you’ll post lots of photos so we can share in the fun too.

    Reply

  4. Racquel girl ! .. we have similar setups except for the dome .. that is new to me .. but in Spring we were introduced to the Nyger seed socks which were great : )
    I have chased (as well as husband) Mr. Mystery (black cat ) out of the yard several times .. I’m FED-UP !!

    Reply

  5. No recipe for you….that is one heck of a bean!! Cool feeding station for the birds..

    Reply

  6. Wow that is one long bean! You could saute them in olive oil with some salt and pepper. That’s how we like our green beans.

    Reply

  7. That is some bean! You wouldn’t need too many of those to feed a family:) The new bird feeder looks like a great idea; I can’t keep up with refilling mine.

    Reply

  8. Those beans are incredible!

    Reply

  9. That’s the longest bean I think I have ever seen. Do they taste just like green beans?

    Reply

  10. Yep, those long beans are used alot in asian cooking. Don’t harvest too late as they tend to get tough. Cut into 2-3″ lengths and saute with red onion, garlic, or ginger (or both!) and add a touch of sesame oil or oyster sauce if you have it. I use this recipe for my japanese eggplants too…really tasty! My pole beans this year have literally gone to the deer!!

    Reply

  11. That one bean is a whole meal! LOL

    That’s one of the largest bird feeders that I’ve seen. Hope you have plenty of goldfinches visit the new restaurant!

    Cameron

    Reply

  12. Wow on the beans, Raquel! They are incredible. I hope you get plenty of goldfinches! H.

    Reply

  13. wow that bean is LONG!! woowww! Your feeder is interesting. Will have to see it closer. Right now I am only putting out mealworms and hummingbird nectar. The birds are going after all the seed heads in the garden.

    Reply

  14. Now that’s a bean- are they the Dow Gauk? I planted those- the first ones were eaten, the second batch (started indoors in long paper pots this time!) aren’t doing really well, so I’m not sure I’ll see any. Be sure to let us know how the taste!

    Reply

  15. Posted by Racquel on August 1, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Thanks everyone for your comments & suggestions on how to cook these beans. I haven’t tasted them yet so I’ll let you know how they taste. I’ll probably pick this one tomorrow for supper. :) I’ve been having trouble visiting the blogger blogs since open id seems to be acting up. I’ll try to catch up tomorrow. Thanks! :)

    Reply

  16. Oh wow! The feathered friends are gonna love you for this.

    Reply

  17. Neat feeder and I haven’t seen beans that long! Looks really good! Enjoy your stir-fry!

    Reply

  18. Wow, that’s some bean alright; I’ve never seen anything like it. How does it taste?

    Reply

  19. Racquel, very interesting beans. My Hyacynth beans look like that, but haven’t tried them. They are supposed to be edible though. Your new feeder looks great and should bring in the finches. My sunflowers have them fighting over the seeds and they are out there in droves. So fun to watch, but hard to get good photos of.

    Reply

  20. Congrats on the beans. Great to have fresh grown veggies.
    That’s one unusual bird feeder…never seen anything like it.
    I don’t see any goldfinches this year…they used ro love my sunflowers but the rabbits eat them this year.

    Reply

  21. Hi Racquel, nice feeder, that should keep the little finches busy. I love seeing those flashes of gold flying above my garden too.

    Strange bean, certainly the longest I’ve ever seen.
    Marnie

    Reply

  22. Looks like a a great feeder, I usually have what I call cranberry finches. Do you get the one that look like they have had their heads dipped in cranberry juice?

    Reply

  23. My yard long bean plants are about 2foot tall at the moment but no sign of flowers or beans yet. I don’t know if the British climate is good for these Asian beans. I am keeping my fingers crossed!

    Reply

  24. Hey Racquel–that is quite a bean!

    (I hope everything is ok with you–haven’t heard from you in a while. Getting a little worried) :)

    Reply

  25. Hi Racquel…I keep checking here..to see if you have posted. Won’t bug you, but I hope things are OK with you and your family. i understand tending to their needs comes before blogging, but wanted you to know that I’m thinking about you.
    Balisha

    Reply

  26. Wow! That’s HUGE! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a pod that long. Thanks for visiting my site on Blotanical! I hope to see more of you around. My blog is http://www.GardeningWithMissDaisy.com. See you soon!

    Reply

  27. Interesting information. I didn’t know that and thanks for bringing me up to speed. I will check back more often.

    Reply

  28. Racquel, haven’t seen anything posted in awhile. Hope you are okay.

    Reply

  29. Goodness sakes Racquel. I’ve never seen a bean with those proportions! You’ll have to let us know what you did with them. I bet the goldfinches are loving the dual socks. I’ve never seen a feeder like that either ~ you have lots of surprises for us. I popped over tonight because I realized I hadn’t “seen” you around for a while. Hope things are okay and that you’re finding a little time to be out in the garden.

    Reply

  30. Hi Racquel :) The yardlong bean is sure leaving up to its name! I tried to grow these last year but they never made it through that soggy spring. I sure wonder what they taste like!

    Goldfinches are one of my favorites too. They are such cheerful birds. Hope this finds you doing well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

