July Blooms (GBBD)

Hydrangeas
The stars of the show in my garden this month have to be the Hydrangeas.   Whether they be mopheads, paniculatas or oakleafs they all shine in their own way.   But the true prima donna  has to be my favorite of all of them, ‘Limelight’.  As you can see in the photo to above he’s almost glowing when the sunlight hits the  new blossoms.  Below it the fading blossoms of ‘Nikko Blue’ will continue to create interest through the next few months as they age to a combination of cream, pink &  blue.  In front of ‘Nikko’ is  one of my newest additions to the Hydrangea border, the dwarf oakleaf cultivar ‘Little Honey’.  The bright golden leaves are interesting even without any flowers. Rubeckia, Shasta Daisies, & Knockout Roses
There is a riot of colors in Grandma’s Garden Beds that include the dependable blooms of Shasta Daisies, Rubeckia, Knockout Roses, Orange Tiger Lillies and Pink Petunias.  The little white lattice fence hides the ugly a/c unit nicely.
GBBD page
Here’s some of the other summer blooms going on in the garden at the moment including from upper L-R : Belamcanda ‘Hello Yellow’, Crocosmia ‘Lucifer’, Four o’ clocks, Hydrangea ‘Forever & Ever Red’  and Cleome.  To see what’s blooming in other gardens all over the world or to join in this month please visit our gracious host  Carol @ May Dreams Gardens.
29 responses to this post.

  1. I should get some Rudbeckia. Your hydrangea is huge!

    They are a wonderful summer perennial to extend the season of interest in your garden. :) Thanks Chuck!

    Reply

  2. Wow just beautiful! I love those rudbeckia!!!!!

    Thank you Cindee, that clump is huge isn’t it? :)

    Reply

  3. Beautiful blooms, Racquel. Your hydrangea really does deserve the “Limelight.”

    Thanks Grace. It really is a star in the garden. :)

    Reply

  4. It is so nicely offset by the impeccable clapboard. A lovely mixture.
    Four o’clock is a new one on me. Annual?

    Thanks for the nice comments Joco. Yep, Four o’ Clock is an annual but it reseeds prolifically every year with no help from me. :)

    Reply

  5. I really like Grandma’s bed. Happy GBBD!

    I’ll let her know Les! Thanks! :) Same to you!

    Reply

  6. Is this the first time your Four O’Clocks have been multiple colors? Mine are all either yellow or red. Thought with some cross pollination I would get a mix. hmmm. Little Honey is doing great!

    Actually no they’ve always done this color changing thing. The yellow variety does this neat trick. I’ll save you some seed from it if you’d like some. Thanks I’m please with ‘Little Honey’s’ progress this year. Hopefully I’ll get some blooms next spring. :)

    Reply

  7. That border is delicious!

    Why thank you Layanee! :) Thanks for stopping by this Bloom Day!

    Reply

  8. There is a riot of gorgeous blooms in your garden…Love Grandma’s Bed…Now those are flowers that make me smile (well, they all do!) gail

    Thanks Gail, summer is such a riot of color in comparision to spring huh? :) I’ll pass on your comments to Grandma, she’ll be thrilled.

    Reply

  9. I can’t believe how great your Limelight looks. Mine is just sitting there with not a bud to be found anywhere. Love your grandma’s flower bed. It’s so pretty!

    Be patient Susie, once your ‘Limelight’ gets more established it’s going to be your favorite plant in the garden. :) Thanks!

    Reply

  10. Racquel,
    Your Shastas are standing up so pretty! Ours just flop over on the ground! What’s your secret?

    I don’t know what to tell you Randy. :) These have always done well, I think they might be the variety ‘Beckie’ which has a more bushy shape to it. I dug up some divisions of it to move elsewhere last fall & they don’t look as great as the original clump either.

    Reply

  11. Beautiful blooms, I really like the Rubeckia and Shasta Daisies, Happy GBBD!

    -Cathy
    P.S. I have a wordpress blog too with the same template as you!
    but I post GBBD on my blogspot blog,

    Thanks Cathy. I’ll be over soon to check out your blooms! Happy Bloom Day! :)

    Reply

  12. Grandma’s bed is the kind of bed I want to see in my garden. It is gorgeous. The hydrangeas too. Little honey is very sweet. The yellow is special.

    It is pretty lush isn’t it? :) Everything gets bigger & fuller in her bed than they do elsewhere. Thanks Tina, I’m pleased with my ‘Little Honey’.

    Reply

  13. Your gardens have shot up!!! Looks fantastic…!

    Thanks Darla. :)

    Reply

  14. That Limelight has really grown. Beautiful picture with the light shining on it. Grandma’s garden is spectacular!! What color!

    Thanks Balisha. It just gets better & better every year. :) I will pass on your compliments to Grandma.

    Reply

  15. OMG your limelight is huge, topping the fence … love all your blooms :)

    It has really matured nicely over the past few years. Thanks Mom! ;)

    Reply

  16. So many healthy plants Racquel! Mine are mostly cooked!

    Thanks Linda. Sorry to hear that the heatwave is stressing out your garden. Hopefully they’ll bounce back better than ever once fall gets here. :)

    Reply

  17. Time is short, so I only chose one — yours — to see. Good choice. Love the hydrangeas. Grandma’s bed is just perfect — will she post the roof garden? I’ll look to see, later.

    Thanks Nell, I’m glad you chose to stop by my blog today for Bloom Day. :) How sweet are you! Actually my Mom http://capriciousincleveland.blogspot.com/ has the rooftop garden. This is my grandma’s garden bed that lives with us. :)

    Reply

  18. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on July 15, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Racquel,
    Your garden is looking tip top. I so love the hydrangeas. Jealous is more the word.:)
    Donna

    Thanks Donna. LOL, I’m glad you love my Hydrangeas. You should consider adding one of these paniculata types to your garden. So much easier than the traditional mopheads & lacecaps. :)

    Reply

  19. Always a delight to see your Hydrangeas. And Grandma’s beds look wonderful with all that colour! Your four o’clocks and croscomia are very pretty!

    Thanks Kanak, I enjoy these summer beauties so much. Glad you do too! :) I will pass on your compliments to Grandma. She’ll be pleased. :) I knew you would love the fabulous colors of Four o’clocks & Crocosmia. They have that exotic tropical feel that I so much admire in your garden.

    Reply

  20. Wish my hydrangeas would bloom like yours. Have lots of bush but few flowers. I do have a Lady in Red that is in bloom I should take a picture of her.

    I wish I could give you some advice on that Stella. Your Lady in Red sounds pretty, look forward to seeing a pic of it soon. :)

    Reply

  21. WOW your gardens look wonderful. Love that Limelight. I put 3 in 2 years ago and so happy I did. Your four o’clocks speaks to me!!! Happy GBBD.

    H.

    Thanks Helen! Good choice on planting 3 of these beauties. If I had more room I would plant more too! If you would like I can save some seed of this Four o’ clock for you this fall. :)

    Reply

  22. Wow, that “Limelight” is spectacular, Racquel! I can’t wait to see if mine eventually gets that big. You certainly have a lot of color right now; I think July is the best month for the garden. I especially like the sideyard planting, “Grandma’s Gardens.” Not only do I like the combination of blooms, but the name makes it special as well–were these plants originally from your Grandma’s garden?

    In a few years yours will be as mature & large as mine Rose! This July has been pretty good compared to this time last year. All the spring rains we had really helped. Actually this garden bed belongs to my Grandma who lives with us. She is a passionate gardener too so when her & Grandpa moved in with us 4 years ago we made this planting area for her. I will pass on your comments to her, she’ll be thrilled. :)

    Reply

  23. Limelight must be an angel, to have that halo around his head! He is magnificent. Nikko is looking good too. Easy to see why the hydrangea family are lighting your fire just now. Love the Grandma bed too. Tiger lilies are a favorite of mine. :-)
    Frances

    He is pretty special to me Frances. I’ve grown quite attached to the focal point he provides to my garden each summer. Thanks! :)

    Reply

  24. Beautiful blooms Racquel! I can’t believe your daisies are still in bloom. Mine have been gone for some time. And your hydrangreas–oh my how gorgeous! Thanks for sharing–I needed some bright flowers today! :)

    Thanks Linda. Yep the Daisies are at their peak right now. Shows how different our zones are from one another huh? I’m glad my flowers brightened your day. :)

    Reply

  25. I love the combo of rudbeckia and shastas.

    I have a perfect place for limelight. Don’t know why I have been putting off planting one for so long. Maybe I’ll start checking the sales and try to pick one up this year.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie. I wish you luck with ‘Limelight’, it’s a great addition you won’t regret adding to your garden. :)

    Reply

  26. Racquel, your garden is bursting with color. Very pretty! The hydrangeas look great. I’ve added ‘Limelight’ to my want list. The peek at yours sent me on a google search. Love the color! Thanks for sharing all your beautiful blossoms. ~~Rhonda

    Thank you Rhonda for the nice comments. I’m glad I could inspire you to add Limelight to your beautiful garden. It’s a real workhorse, you won’t regret it! :)

    Reply

  27. Happy Bloom Day. All of your garden look so lush and beautiful.~~Dee

    Same to you Dee! Thank you! :)

    Reply

  28. I love that hydrangea bed.

    Why thank you very much HG! :)

    Reply

  29. Lovely flowers and all so tidy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

