Seeds and Seedlings

Seeds & Seedlings 001Last year I had such a hard time finding seed for fall planting that I decided I better pick my seeds up now while the stock was plentiful.  And they are actually marking everything down 60-70% in the stores so they can get rid of it.  Here are some of the things I plan on sowing late summer for a autumn harvest.  I got  ‘Black Seeded Simpson’ Lettuce, a blend of Looseleaf Lettuces, ‘Cherry Belle’ Radishes, Mesculin Spicy Mix, and ‘Baby’s Leaf’ Spinach.  

Seeds & Seedlings 002

I couldn’t resist these two interesting colors of Nasturiums either.  The colors remind me of Peaches and Chocolate…yum!  I’m thinking of putting these in some hanging containers and I better do that soon.

Seeds & Seedlings 003

Now for the seedlings portion of this post.  Ta Da! My purple Hyacinth Bean has quickly sprouted under the new trellises that I mounted last week in the New Garden.  All that rain this weekend must of kicked these annual climbers into gear.  Hope they quickly wind their way up the supports.  :)

16 responses to this post.

  1. Bravo! Don’t you just love the sight of new baby plants from the seed you so tenderly sowed? My beans (Purple Yard Long Asparagus Bean) are up too. The joys of gardening!

    Thanks Grace, I was quite pleased to see these seedlings emerging from the soil yesterday. :) Happy Gardening!!!

    Reply

  2. Great picks for fall. You are smart to purchas ahead of time and on sale to boot! My hyacinth bean vine is going nuts. I had no idea the leaves were as big as they are!! Can’t wait to watch yours grow.

    Thanks Darla, better to be safe than sorry come fall. I can’t wait till mine is as big as yours & look forward to the seeing the leaves. :)

    Reply

  3. Hi Racquel, you are smart to buy seeds now for the August sowing for they will be gone from the stores by then. Last year I sowed too late, end of September which did not give the plants enough time to grow before the frost. It seems so hot in August, but maybe that is the idea?
    Frances

    Hi Frances, thanks I decided I wouldn’t put myself through that again this season. You would think the stores would take note of how many people still are growing veggies in the fall. It does seem that August would be a bit hot for seedlings but maybe they love that extra heat to germinate? ;)

    Reply

  4. Hyacinth Beans are one of my favorite vines, but I did not plant any on the trellis this year. I am looking for a more permanent vine but can’t make up my mind.

    I’ve never grown them before Les so it will be fun to see how they do. I love annual vines since you can swap them out from year to year. I’ll look forward to seeing what you decide on for your trellis. :)

    Reply

  5. You are reminding me to buy some seeds Racquel. Thanks!! :)
    Have a great day!

    Glad this post was a good reminder for you Linda. Happy Gardening! ;)

    Reply

  6. Racquel,
    Did you plant the white or purple Hyacinth beans? I love both of them.

    I planted the purple Randy, I didn’t even know there was a white variety.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Susie on May 21, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Hyacinth beans are great vines! Yours will be crawling up the trellis before you know it.

    Thanks for the encouragement Susie! ;)

    Reply

  8. You are so right to buy the seeds now. Can’t understand why merchants only stock in the spring. Yeah for the hyacinth bean!

    Thanks Tina, it is a bit strange that they don’t think to stock seed for the fall. I looked everywhere last year including Wally World & Kmart. I’m so pleased with the Hyacinth Bean! :)

    Reply

  9. Love your nasturtiums. They will look great together the colors are very complimentary. I’ve never tried growing them but maybe next spring.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie, that’s what I was thinking too! ;) I have the perfect containers to grow them in too, just remembered.

    Reply

  10. That’s a good idea to buy seeds now; the stores apparently don’t think of gardeners sowing cool weather crops again in the fall. I tried the mesclun mix last year and really liked it; I even have volunteer lettuce coming up in my garden this year! I like your ranunculus, but I tried planting it several years ago without much luck either; at least you have one flower!

    Thanks Rose, it is a case of prior planning. :) Nope I don’t understand why the stores only stock seeds in the spring and start taking them down come the end of May. I’ve never tried Mesculin Mix until this spring and it tastes great so I thought I would try this spicy variety in the fall. Hubby & Sons love spicy stuff. Congrats on the volunteer Lettuce! I didn’t realize it would self sow itself. I got a second bloom now on my Ranunculus! Yay! lol

    Reply

  11. FYI .. the scarlet sage you sent me has sprouted, putting the zinnias in this weekend. I am stocking up on seed too, and also bought the mesculin mix :)

    That is great Mom, I knew you wouldn’t have to wait long for it to germinate. Have fun planting this weekend. lol, I guess we do think alike. :)

    Reply

  12. Congrats on your new vine. I bet it will be covering the trellis soon and you can be the proud parent since you germinated it! I haven’t seen seeds marked down in our area yet?? I better get out there and look again. I never knew Martha Stewart marketed seeds! I love that mahogany nasturtium color. I hope they do well for you.

    Thanks Kathleen, I love annual vines cause they grow fast & can be changed from year to year. :) Maybe in your area they wait a bit longer to discount the seeds? I didn’t know MS marketed seeds either but they have them at Kmart just so you know. I love the colors of these two Nasturiums. Thanks!

    Reply

  13. I love nasturtiums; the mahogony look like a great color!

    Me too Monica, but for some reason I’ve neglected to plant them for a few years. I do love that Mahogony color, so deep & rich. :)

    Reply

  14. Racquel, If you decide you want to give the ‘Alba’ a shot let me know. I have tons of seeds.

    Hi Randy I would love to give ‘Alba’ a shot. I will email you shortly. Thanks! ;)

    Reply

  15. Those nasturtiums look really good! And buying seeds much before planting time is something I’ll have to keep in mind!

    Thanks Kanak. It’s just something I found I had to do in my area since the nurseries & stores take the seed off the shelves by June.

    Reply

  16. I am learning to get supplies when they are available too…Sometimes in the spring when I want to start things indoors or put in an early row – the local stores are not stocked yet. Though this year did some seed orders. Fun to see the seedlings pop up – I am sure they will really take off with some moisture and warmth.

    I know what you mean Chris, the nurseries don’t seem to be prepared for gardeners that grow year round even when it is just indoor sowing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

