Archive for May 14th, 2009

Vertical Growing Space

Trellis Project

At one time these 4 ft trellises supported my Clematis ‘Niobe’ in the Rose Bed.   When I moved ‘Niobe’ to the front foundation bed they were assigned to the Veggie Garden.  However after considering how short they were for squash, beans and cukes they were replaced with 6 ft composite ones.  So they were homeless again and I’m a big believer in reusing things in the garden. Last December I received quite a few annual seed vines in the mail during my seed swap with other bloggers.  But I was running out of vertical growing space so it was time to repurpose these again.  They were a bit short so I decided to mount them on the fence at the back of the New Garden bed instead of sticking them into the ground.  My Mom gave me the idea of using cup hooks.  Thanks Mom! 

  Hyacinth Bean Vine

And I have the perfect seeds to grow here.  This garden is shades of purple and yellow so the Hyacinth Bean seeds that Brenda @ View From the Pines sent me will be a great addition. I love how she printed a photo of the vine on this envelope, isn’t that clever?  I’ve never grown this particular climber so it will be fun to watch it scurry up the newly placed supports.  Plus it will disguise a large chunk of that plain wooden privacy fence.  You can never have too much vertical growing space in the garden in my opinion.  🙂