The first Dutch Iris bloom!

Dutch Iris

Dutch Iris

Hope everyone has a nice weekend with their families and friends this Easter weekend.  I couldn’t resist posting a photo of my first Dutch Iris bloom of the season.  Don’t remember the name of this particular plant, but it has been in my front border garden for years now.  It was one of the first ones I planted and then I became hooked on Dutch Iris!  Now I have some purples, blues & yellows as well.  This beautiful white one is still my favorite of them all.  Of course when the others start blooming I might say the same about them too, lol.  It was a nice day this morning but the clouds rolled in early afternoon and the temps dipped back into the lower 50’s.  Brrr!  So all my veggies that are still in containers are playing the in & out shuffle into the garage at the moment.  Looks like rain is in the forecast but I’m not complaining.  Remember ‘April Showers bring May Flowers’.  Happy Gardening everyone!  :)

22 responses to this post.

  1. Very pretty Racquel. Happy Easter.

    Thank you Janet! Happy Easter!

    Reply

  2. ooohhh jealous! I am anticipating my iris blooms..all of them were passalong plants and as such did not bloom at all last year. i was soooo disappointed..but I noticed two days ago that I have several blooms coming forth…ahhh…such excitement..LOL Being passalongs..most could be either white or purple so it will be a surprise when they do bloom..I feel like an expectant mother..LOL

    Sounds like soon you will have some beautiful blooms to enjoy too! That will be a nice surprise not knowing what colors you might have mixed in there. Pass-a-longs are some of my favorite plants in the garden at the moment. :)

    Reply

  3. I love dutch iris. I don’t have any white ones. Yours are really pretty!
    Happy Easter to you too!!!

    Oh then you have to add some white ones. They have a new one called Casa Blanca that I saw in Breck’s fall catalog. It looks like Orchids! Thanks Cindee. :)

    Reply

  4. I love dutch iris too! I only have blue and yellow ones that are just finishing up, but I might put in some white ones next year. That one is so pretty!

    They are fabulous, I love the purples & yellows together but this white one just catches my eye each spring. :) Thanks Sheila!

    Reply

  5. I can see why it’s a favorite, Racquel. I’m partial to white in the garden and it’s a beauty. Happy Easter!

    Thanks Joey, it really is a nice color that just blends with everything else isn’t it? Happy Easter!

    Reply

  6. I need to start doing Dutch Irises, they are so beautiful and smell so wonderful. i know that my sister’s inlaws have tons of them, and they are so beautiful.

    And they are so easy too Zach, you plant them in the fall and they just keep on coming up every spring bigger & better. Maybe your sister’s in laws can share of theirs with you? :)

    Reply

  7. LOL, it’s supposed to get as HIGH as 50 here tomorrow! :) Love the iris.

    Maybe I shouldn’t be complaining, huh? lol Thanks Monica!

    Reply

  8. I can see why you would become hooked on these beautiful blooms. Happy Easter.

    Thanks Beckie and the same to you! :)

    Reply

  9. I love the cheery little Dutch Iris, it is one of the first bulbs I ever purchased.

    They are quite cheery, aren’t they? :)

    Reply

  10. Posted by atcps on April 11, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Happy Easter to you too Racquel. And the iris is beautiful. This is the first year I’ve tried them and still no blooms on mine. Sigh. :)

    Thanks Tina. Hope you get some blooms soon. This white one is always my earliest bloomer, the others don’t even have buds yet.

    Reply

  11. H Racquel…You know, I haven’t one of these in my garden! I wonder how that happened! The white is beautiful…gail

    I can’t believe that Gail, you must get you some Dutch Iris this fall! Thanks! :)

    Reply

  12. I love white as well. Then again, just like you, I’d say the same to all the other colors, too! Oh, I just love flowers.

    I know what you mean Blossom! ;)

    Reply

  13. Posted by greenwalks on April 11, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    So wee and cute! Wow, iris… you guys just spring forward so much faster there! I had a reticulated iris bloom a while ago but no others yet. I have a bunch that need dividing, maybe next fall! Happy Easter to you and the family.

    Thanks Karen. That’s strange cause my reticulated iris haven’t bloomed yet. You can actually divide them right after they bloom, just cut back the fans to help them adjust faster. Happy Easter to you & yours!

    Reply

  14. Racquel — one of my favorites! They bloom early and for a long time! I love that white, which I don’t have. I have the blues, purples and rosy ones. Only 1 has bloomed here, but the rabbits (not the deer), clipped back the foliage on most of mine.

    Cameron

    They are pretty special aren’t they? ;) I don’t have a rosy one, but I’m always looking to add more to my collection. You must add a white this fall to yours. Well that was nice of the bunnies to trim the foliage for you, lol. Shame on them.

    Reply

  15. Happy Easter Racquel !!
    I love Dutch iris .. I have white ones that were planted last Fall but they are so slowly coming up I hope they won’t have parts of the deck fall on that bed IF the deck guys get there tails in gear this week ?? the agony of waiting for this to happen is driving me NUTS !!!!!! haha

    Happy Easter to you too Joy! I hope the construction of the deck doesn’t interfere with these lovely bloomers for you this year. Don’t let it drive you crazy, just keep telling yourself how spectacular it will be when it is all done. :) They make me smile every spring when they start blooming here.

    Reply

  16. Happy Easter, Racquel! That iris seems to symbolise the season.

    Happy Easter to you too Victoria! It really did have that Easter feeling to me too. :)

    Reply

  17. Very pretty Racquel and perfect timing for Easter. Thanks for the reminder about April showers!! As long as they are rain showers (not snow), we’re good, right?!!! Have a nice Easter with your family.

    Thank you Kathleen, it did seem like the perfect bloom for today. :) You are quite welcome, hopefully all your showers from here on out are just raindrops. lol Happy Easter to you & yours too!

    Reply

  18. That is a pretty iris Racquel. I posted a yellow iris on my blog today too! I’m not sure what kind it is tho. Happy Easter!

    Thanks Susie. Your yellow one was gorgeous too, it looks a Louisiana type to me. Especially since it is happily growing in your wet area. Happy Easter.

    Reply

  19. I finally had one iris barely blooming, and it froze last week one night. It hunkered down and hasn’t come back…
    Brenda

    I’m so sorry, that is terrible about that frost sending your Iris into hibernation! Hope it tries again once it realizes that the warmer temps are back. :)

    Reply

  20. Happy Easter to you and your family too! I love your white dutch iris. For some reason, I don’t remember ever seeing one in white. Now I’m smitten too!

    Cindy

    Thanks Cindy. I’m glad I got you hooked on this beautiful white Dutch Iris too. :)

    Reply

  21. Beautiful, Racquel! My irises won’t be blooming for at least another month. Hope you had a good Easter.

    Thanks Rose. I guess I will get to enjoy a second flush when yours start blooming. Yes I had a nice Easter, hope yours was good too. :)

    Reply

  22. Posted by ladykat on June 16, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    I love this one too. I planted my first few last fall and had a wonderful showing this spring. BTW, they are Casa Blanca.
    Can anyone tell me when it is safe to cut them back after blooming? and how close to the ground?
    Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

