Archive for January 12th, 2009

Winter Memories of Years Past

 snow-storm-of-963

We don’t normally get tons of snow in my area of Virginia. Ice is usually the problem for us which can cause a lot of traffic problems.   But tens years ago we had a couple of storms that hit us hard.  The amount of snow that the Tidewater area received shut us down completely.  The boys missed quite a few days of school and they were happy. In the above photo you can see  what my front yard looked like.  Back then we had a Ligustrum Hedge that ran the perimeter of our front yard.   Here’s my youngest who must of been about 6 or 7 years old throwing a snowball at me.  He will be 16 in a couple of months so this picture made me smile.   

snow-storm-of-96-0011

Here’s a photo of the back yard and Arbor Garden completely blanketed in that white stuff.   It looks pretty doesn’t it?  That’s because my boys hadn’t traipsed all through it yet, lol.  🙂

snow-storm-of-96-0021

This was the snowman they got to build that year.  His Ligustrum hair cracked me up.  Thank goodness we don’t get this kind of accumulation yearly.  It was fun while it lasted but in the end I was happy to see it go.  Isn’t that usually the case with these things?