Hope springs eternal

winter-pics-016-22
Early Spring blooming bulbs are emerging in my garden.  Some of these will bloom between February & April next year.  The picture above is Narcissus ‘Baby Moon’ I believe.  It has multiple blooms on a single stem with grass like foliage.  The solid yellow blooms blend nicely with Muscari Grape Hyacinth as companions.
winter-pics-001-2
Another great spring bloomer is the Dutch Iris.  I’ve had white & yellow flowering ones in the garden for a few years now.  This year I added the cultivar ‘Blue Pearl’ which is blueish purple with a yellow center.  Each flower lasts a long time on the plant compared to the Bearded Irises. 
allium-001
However my favorite spring blooming bulbs have to be from the Allium family.  The Allium sphaerocephalon  (Drumstick) pictured above is one of the longest blooming members of this family.   I have a variety of cultivars such Allium unifolium, Allium cernuum, Allium christophii, Allium sphaerocephalon and Allium Moly.  This year I added ‘Purple Sensation’ which I am quite excited about.  This species of bulbs works well with Daylillies, Croscosmia and other perennials.  Bulbs are a source of hope in my garden. 
17 responses to this post.

  1. Mmmm…yummy stuff there! Or there WILL be! I love A. sphaerocephalon, too. I had it in our gardens for the first time this year. I wish I’d gotten more. I know I still could, but wish I’d thought of it earlier. We have ‘Baby Moon’ too. I’ll have to check if mine are coming up a bit. I never thought of putting Muscari with them – brilliant!

    Thanks Kylee. Drumstick Alliums are everywhere throughout my gardens. They are fantastic long bloomers. You could always plant some still in the spring if you don’t feel like it now. Baby Moons are such sweet little daffs & you’ll love them combined with Muscari.

    Reply

  2. WOW Racquel it feels like it is very far away for me, I got my first snow yesterday…love those Allium sphaerocephalon and as a matter of fact a think I like all Alliums. Have a nice Sunday/ Tyra

    It may seem like that now Tyra, but some of my earliest blooms start in February and that will be here before we know it. :) Me too, Alliums are my favorite bulbs of all. Hope the rest of your weekend is going good.

    Reply

  3. Wow I didn’t think they would be sprouting this soon. I planted some February bloomers and some other kind, I am trying the Allium, Purple Sensation too, I only planted two, I really didn’t know what they were. Looking forward to sharing photos!

    I wasn’t expecting them to be sprouting either Darla but they will be some of my earliest blooms. February will be here before we know it. I’ve never grown Purple Sensation either and I can’t wait to compare notes & photos on it next season. :)

    Reply

  4. Isn’t it amazing to see our bulb foliage already? I’ve got the same thing going here and the foliage looks so green and fresh. I was actually counted the months last night….to get back out to plant the garden! Lately, I’m a seed catalog addict. The little packets sound so cheap until I see how many I’ve put in my shopping cart! Abandon! – Cameron

    Yes it is Cameron, I guess I never paid attention in seasons past until the buds started forming. It does look so fresh & green, the cold doesn’t seem to phase it at the moment. I enjoy seed catalogs too and the cost does add up fast. lol ;)

    Reply

  5. I have little jonaquils coming up. I wish I knew their name. They are pass-alongs from my Mother’s neighbors. They have small yellow flowers that look like tiny daffodils, but what makes them so unique is their fragrance. They smell heavenly! I’ll post a picture when they bloom–I bet you will be able to identify them for me! :)

    I can’t wait to see your tiny jonaquils when they bloom Linda. I will try my best to help you identify them. They sound wonderful. Fragrance is a nice feature for daffs!

    Reply

  6. I agree with you Racquel. I can’t imagine my garden without spring bulbs. It would be a very long wait until bloom time if we didn’t have them to keep us going. You should have a wonderful display come Spring.

    They do extend the season nicely before the perennials & roses start budding up. Thanks Kathleen, I’m excited about my spring display next year. I really added quite a few new things!

    Reply

  7. No Fair! You’ve got spring bulbs coming up already and we just got ours planted. :) I see your winters are very short. It will be nice to see pictures of them when they bloom though-give us a glimpse of what is to come in our gardens here farther north.

    Sorry Beckie, I didn’t plan it that way. ;) Our winters are quite short. My garden will starting to perk back up in March. I promise to share with you!

    Reply

  8. Will eagerly wait for your photos Racquel! They look so promising!

    Thanks Kanak, I promise to share photos as soon as these beauties start blooming. :)

    Reply

  9. If I didn’t know any better I’d think I was looking new spring birth. So nice to see! I’ll look forward to seeing the blooms.

    It does seem a bit odd at this time of the year Susie. Thanks, I promise to share the blooms!

    Reply

  10. Such an apt thought of bulbs being a source of hope. They are real winners.

    Thanks Tina, they are my hope for a new season.

    Reply

  11. Hi Racquel, you have so much up and so much more to go. All those alliums will be splendid. We tried purple sensation for the first time last year and they were great! More were ordered all with the drumsticks, both planted in amongst the muhly grass along the driveway. We have grape hyacinths up and the little bulbocodium daffs, golden bells. Can we really be thinking about spring already?
    Frances

    Hi Frances, I just hope those babies aren’t jumping the gun! :) I can’t wait to see my Purple Sensation next spring. I’ve grown a variety of Alliums but not this one. They should look great mingling with your Muhly Grass. The Daffs & Grape Hyacinths are always early risers in my garden. Well it will be here before we know it, spring that is. :)

    Reply

  12. Posted by skeeter on November 23, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    I just plucked the dead stems of my drumsticks today! Ihope I dont forget where they are located in the planter next year and dig them up by accident. I probably should mark them… :)

    You could always stick some small bamboo stakes in that area so you don’t dig them up accidentally Skeeter.

    Reply

  13. The narcissus a fellow blogger sent me are coming up also. I’m so excited each day to watch their progress pushing up through the soil!
    Brenda

    That was nice of them to pass them along to you Brenda. It will be fun to watch them grow and start to bloom in the spring. :)

    Reply

  14. I never realized how diverse the allium family is until recently. I’ve been trying to convince my mom to let me plant some in her garden, I think they’d compliment her agapanthus nicely.

    It is a pretty diverse family. I hope you convince your Mom, she won’t be sorry. They are such a great addition to any garden setting. I love Agapanthus but need to find a variety that is hardy in my area. :)

    Reply

  15. I need to go upside and see if my daffs are coming up.

    I know my large flowering types aren’t showing up yet but these smaller ones are always early risers each year. :)

    Reply

  16. Posted by skeeter on November 24, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    Hey, thats a good idea!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family…

    Thanks Skeeter. :) Happy Thanksgiving to you & yours!

    Reply

  17. These are all coming up in your garden right now?? And I just finished planting spring bulbs! I can’t wait to see them all in bloom.

    Yep these are my early risers, hopefully they didn’t jump the gun too fast. :) Thanks Rose.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

