Massive Mushrooms

Something is causing a massive invasion of mushrooms in my neighbor’s yard.   These piles are just a small example of the fungi phenomenen growing in several areas throughout their back yard.  I happened upon them when I was calling for my cat Mooch to come in this morning.  He likes to lounge on their deck when it’s sunny outside.  Lucky for me they are cat lovers too.  They have a older male cat who gets along quite famously with mine.  Which is quite unusual since neither one them gets along with any other cat in the neighborhood.  Anyhow when I wandered back there to look for my cat I noticed these brown piles which I didn’t realize were mushrooms at first glance.  Of course I happened to have my camera on me so I took a quick picture to share with all of you.  I’ve never seen anything like this in my own yard.  Have you?

29 responses to this post.

  1. Ew, those are the weirdest mushrooms I’ve ever seen… and to grow out in the middle of the yard like that! Crazy– I have never seen anything like that, but I’d be afraid of my poor cat trying to eat those. Yikes! Glad you spotted it in time!

    They do look weird DP! :) I don’t think the cat is interested in them, he prefers mice, bugs & catfood! lol

    Reply

  2. Nope, I’ve never seen that amount of mushrooms before, not in piles like that. We get the occasional patch of them, but nothing like that. There must be a nutrient that they like very much in their lawn.

    I’ve never seen anything like it in my yard either. Just the little white ones that form fairy rings in the yard occasionally. Someone suggested an old tree stump, and I do recall a tree that was taken down four years ago.

    Reply

  3. Posted by CF on October 29, 2008 at 3:46 am

    We had several batches of those show up in our yard not long after hurricanes Gustav and Ike. They seemed to pop up overnight. We though it must have been the dampness and lawn debris that encouraged such rapid growth. Weird!

    That’s an idea too CF, but we haven’t had an excess amount of moisture lately. It is weird! Thanks for stopping by today. :)

    Reply

  4. Wow! I’ve never seen the like! Maybe there used to be a tree there and there are still some decaying roots left below the soil surface? Combined with enough rain, that may have provided the perfect conditions. Whatever caused them, they sure seem to like that spot! This fall after Hurricane Ike blew through Chicago, we had a huge crop of teeny tiny mushrooms all over the garden. (We had about 7″ of rain in just one day.) The mushrooms seemed to cover about every square inch of our fairly large garden and lasted for a couple of weeks. Our garden was mulched for oh, probably 20 years with that really chunky pine nugget mulch. Much of it has sunken into the soil like rocks, and mushrooms seem to like spots where there’s decaying wood in the soil. We do get lots of mushrooms in the garden, but I’ve never seen so many of those tiny ones all at once before. But then, I don’t think there’s been 7″ of rain in one day in the four years since I’ve lived here either.

    Thanks for the reminder Linda, they did use to have an older Maple in their yard several years ago that was removed after Hurricane Isabel blew through. That must be the reason they are so heavy throughout the area where the stump & roots would be. We haven’t had alot of moisture for October so that isn’t the reason.

    Reply

  5. Never have I seen such a sight! Have you had lots of rain lately? Wow!

    Me neither Linda! We had some rain this week but these formed before it showed up.

    Reply

  6. Hi Racquel, those mushrooms do remind us of piles of something else, no cow around there? Just kidding, I agree with Linda, probably an old tree stump in that shape under the earth. Those types of mushrooms favor decaying wood of certain types. I’m sure they are harmless and will dry up. One thing they could do is gather them up and spread them in the garden beds, excellent compost material.
    Frances

    Hi Frances, lol, I did have a similar thought myself at first. Linda was on target, I forgot about the old maple they had removed from this area about four years ago. The roots & remainder of the stump are probably decaying under the surface here. They aren’t gardeners but I could ask if I could have them! :)

    Reply

  7. Strange ‘shrooms….maybe this is a ghoulish Halloween phenomenon? :-)

    Cameron

    Well that is a thought Cameron, lol. Spooky! ;)

    Reply

  8. I’ve not ever seen such a pile of mushrooms like that! Yuck!!! I’m with Cameron, a ghoulish Halloween phenomenon?

    They are quite yucky looking Susie. Cameron’s suggestion did give me a chuckle this morning. lol

    Reply

  9. That’s huge! I wonder what your neighbours will do about the massive pile. Liked Frances’ idea of using them as compost.

    They will probably dispose of them in their garbage since they aren’t gardeners. I might see if they will let me have them for the compost idea.

    Reply

  10. That’s funny-just happened to have my camera. Ha! Those are cool mushrooms. I figure when I find them they are adding organic matter to the soil and doing a job. Probably decomposing something. Those are some like I’ve never seen before.

    Hey Tina, it was a concidence, lol. They could be decomposing in my compost pile soon….I’ve never seen anything like them either.

    Reply

  11. Wow, too bad they don’t look like the edible kind.
    Marnie

    I wouldn’t know what type were edible except the grocery store ones. ;)

    Reply

  12. Very strange indeed. Often mushrooms grow over rotted stumps or removed trees. We had many (but not that many in a pile) years ago when 8 huge elm trees had to be removed suffering from Dutch Elm disease (I’m still sad ;( loosing them). So … perhaps???

    That’s probably the culprit in this instance too Joey. I forgot that my neighbors had a large Maple removed from their yard several years ago after a hurricane hit it. It is still intriguing that they grew in these masses though.

    Reply

  13. They look like cow patties, don’t they? Weird! Cool about Mooch and his friend though!

    lol, they do look alittle like cow patties Carla! Thanks, it is cool about my cat & his friend. :)

    Reply

  14. Posted by greenwalks on October 29, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Wacky! I almost think they look like piles of leaves all raked up. From a distance, anyway. Or cow pies, as others said. :)

    Another interesting description of these piles. From a distance they didn’t look like mushrooms, that’s for sure. :)

    Reply

  15. Well now that’s quite a pile of mushrooms there. I have no idea how that happened, has it been rainy and drab?

    It is quite a pile Darla! I’m thinking as some of the other’s suggested it might the results of a decaying tree trunk in this area. It hasn’t been overly rainy this month.

    Reply

  16. Great idea Frances had ~ to use them as compost. I’ve never seen anything like it either.

    I like Frances’s idea too for the compost. It’s a strange sight!

    Reply

  17. I posted my other comment on the Painted Lady’s sorry.

    That’s okay. I will go check it out Darla. :)

    Reply

  18. So does anyone know if they are edible? Them be some big piles of shrooms.

    I have no idea if these are edible. Wouldn’t attempt to eat anything growing wild in my own yard.

    Reply

  19. Holy MUSHROOMS BATMAN !!!!!!!
    Run .. do not walk … away as quickly as possible .. grab the cat and run !!!!!
    I have never seen anything like that before … and I don’t want to see it again PG .. do not approach the mushrooms .. they are ALIENS .. do NOT go to sleep near the mushrooms above all else …. and …. keep running !!!!!!

    You are too funny Joy! I don’t think the cat was much interested actually. He prefers things that move! ;) Like the mouse he has been trying to catch in the garden.

    Reply

  20. Geez, that IS a massive pile. I had a small pile of orange mushrooms in my yard earlier this year.

    I’ve never seen a pile this large myself Cinj!

    Reply

  21. A bit scary looking – appropriate for Halloween…I thought they looked like organ tissues (well what do you expect this time of the month).

    They do look pretty gross Chris, but organ tissues is the most unique answer I’ve had so far! If they were in the front yard they could be made part of the Halloween decor. ;)

    Reply

  22. Wow! That is a big mess of mushrooms! If only they were edible, you could be having some delicious soup or pasta with mushroom sauce or something.

    Yes it is and there are 3 or 4 more piles like this. A big mess! I might ask them if I can have them for my compost bin.

    Reply

  23. Oh my!! We have had mushrooms but not like those ones.

    Me neither Laurie, I’ve had the little white ones (fairy rings) in the past, but nothing like this.

    Reply

  24. Posted by Chris on September 21, 2012 at 11:50 am

    I have two huge piles like that in my front yard. There was an old Pin Oak that was removed a year or so ago. Gosh they are GROSS !

    Reply

    • Posted by Dawn on October 28, 2012 at 3:26 pm

      I have tons of these in our yard in Virginia they pop up quick especially when it rains how do u get rid of them? And there was a tree there too!

      Reply

      • Posted by Odessa on March 22, 2013 at 7:10 pm

        Take a sample to a biologist and find out what you have. They may be edible.

      • Posted by Daniel on August 25, 2013 at 2:16 pm

        i just bought my house a year ago and i have the same ones in my front yard also. when they dry out, they become hard and are NOT mower friendly. i was told that the front yard was all trees about 10 years ago. That must have something to do with why they are popping up.

  25. Posted by Gary Garoutte on April 10, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    I think those are Fried Chicken mushrooms. They usually grow in garden areas. I don’t have my book for the scientific name for them, but they are one of the best eating mushrooms of our club in Spokane, Wa.

    Reply

  26. Posted by Deborah Farrington on October 9, 2013 at 9:10 am

    I’ve seen similar piles. One of my parents neighbors in Crofton, MD always gets a large stack in his yard. Part of it looks like those, but, it is multi-tiered, and, some of the layers have a more coppery look than the ones above, It’s not like the lobes are different mushrooms though, they all grow from the same enormous central stalk. I’m pretty sure they were growing from an old stump, because that was a fairly new subdivision.
    You might try asking http://www.fungiperfecti.com for an ID on the type. The founder knows most of the different types.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

