Great timing pays off

Yesterday I worked on the Woodland Garden which is located on the side of the garage in my front yard.  It gets morning sun and has a variety of shade loving plants and shrubs.  My timing was impeccable today, because when I finished it started raining. 

Woodland Garden Before

Woodland Garden Before

Here is a photo showing what the garden looked like yesterday morning before I started moving plants around and amending it with compost.  It looks a little tired after our long hot & dry summer. 

Woodland Garden After

Woodland Garden After

Just adding a good layer of compost did wonders for this garden bed.  I was going to sweep the sidewalk afterwards, but once it started raining it kind of resolved the problem.  :)

Woodland Garden (left side)

Woodland Garden (left side)

I trimmed the bottom branches of the Nandinas up to make them look like small trees.  This way I can plant a ground cover under them or other perennials.  There are Daffodils and Wood Hyacinths planted behind and between the Liropes.  I still would like to replace the Liropes with something else.  Any suggestions?

Woodland Garden (middle)

Woodland Garden (middle)

This is where most of the transplanting took place today.  I removed 3 overgrown Lirope, divided some plants to be transplanted elsewhere, and moved some ferns to the back of the border.  My Goatsbeard  was being swallowed alive by Lirope and a huge Hosta.  It has its’ own space now between the two small Euonymus.  In the process, I uncovered a large patch of Sweet Woodruff hidden under the overgrown plants.

Woodland Garden (right side)

Woodland Garden (right side)

The area where the three containers are sitting used to be the home of my TV Antenna turned trellis.  There is still a huge block of concrete under all that soil,  therefore the containers.  The large Hosta to the left is a division that was moved from beside the Goatsbeard.   Looks like I picked the perfect day to rework the Woodland Garden because the rain really helped settle in all the new transplants & compost.  Well that’s five beds completed and three to go!   Oh I have one more picture to show you……….

Arbor Bed 2008

Arbor Bed 2008

I have put the finishing touches (for now, lol) on the Arbor Bed.  I moved one Nandina from the Fountain Bed over to the far right front corner to balance out the height, moved a Dwarf Pygmy Barberry to behind the bench and planted some spring bulbs under the Nandina.  And I moved my Nelly Moser Clematis to under the new trellis on the fence.   I am happy with the way it looks.  What do you think?

32 responses to this post.

  1. You did have great timing. Rian is so much better for settling in new plantings than a water hose. I like the looks of the Woodland garden with the Nandinas trimmed up. More planting area and they look neater. You had an excellent idea for the concrete pad. Those containers really add to the space and you can trade plants in and out with the seasons. The Arbor bed does look more balanced and giving the bench a barberry bush behind it will give it more of an anchored feeling. Great job! Your gardening energy is amazing.

    Isn’t that the truth! The rain just seems to make everything settle in better. I can’t stand to drag hoses and hand watering can be such a chore too. Thanks, they do have a neater appearance (the Nandinas) when trimmed up. They can get kind of wild & out of control quickly. The containers were a simple solution to the concrete block, no way was my hubby digging that out. Talk about a mess! :) The shrubs & Nandinas in the Arbor bed give it a bit of structure during the winter months when the herbaceous perennials die back. My energy is waning, lol, and I have more work to go.

    Reply

  2. Looks great!!! I am going to do that to my yard this year too(-: It needs a lot of compost!!!!!!!!

    Thanks Cindee! :) Your garden will love you for it, I guarantee that!

    Reply

  3. Reading your post reminded me of the few times I’ve been blessed with rain right after planting/transplanting. After all that hard work what’s better than Mother Nature taking over…a gentle assurance of life/ longevity for the plants? All that compost has given an instant face-lift to the area you worked on. Beautiful!

    It was a blessing for the garden and hopefully will help settle everything in nicely. Thanks Kanak, I’m glad you enjoyed all my hardwork on this bed. It needed a facelift of sorts and the compost was like icing on the cake. :)

    Reply

  4. Your beds look great, I love it when the rain comes as I am finishing up a flower bed oriject.

    Thanks Darla! It was like Mother Nature gave my Woodland Garden her blessing! :)

    Reply

  5. Lucky you with the rain timing, perfection! May I suggest heucheras for that woodland look? Or columbines, they self sow like crazy here and the foliage is interesting. Your compost is luscious looking, I am jealous. ;->
    Frances

    Thanks Frances, it was good luck on my part that Mother Nature decided to give me a hand. I love the idea of Heucheras, their foliage is fabulous. Will they take some morning sun though? Columbines are so pretty with their delicate blossoms but they only last for a couple of years in my garden and I’ve never had any reseed. Must be the mulch I put down in the spring. Hmmm… I do love the compost my city makes, it is gorgeous stuff. Don’t be jealous, lol. :)

    Reply

  6. Looks great Racquel! Excellent timing getting it all done just in time for the rain.

    I like Frances’ ideas for heucheras and columbines. Another plus with heucheras besides the great variety of colors available is that many of them are evergreen. Oh, and that reminds me of hellebores – great in a shady woodland garden, evergreen, and very early spring blooms that last for months.

    Thanks Linda! It did work out perfectly yesterday. That doesn’t always happen. :) I like Frances’ ideas too, Heucheras are one of my favorite perennials with their wonderful variety of colorful & unique foliage. I’ve not had much luck with Columbines in the past. Maybe it’s time to try again.

    Reply

  7. My, but you have been busy! I like Frances’ idea of the heucheras, too; I planted several of these this year and am really happy with them. Wish some of that rain would come our way!

    Thanks Rose and I’m hoping the hardwork this fall will pay off next spring & summer. :) I adore Heucheras. I have one planted in that bed now. My favorite is Plum Pudding at the moment. But the new colors they come in now are amazing! I hope you get some of this wonderful rain soon.

    Reply

  8. I think it looks great and super to get rain when you are done. Suggestion to replace liriope? How about hellebores? Evergreen and first bloomers for perennials.

    Thanks Tina. Great suggestion too. I’ve never grown Hellebores in my garden and looks like they would take the light conditions of this garden. It gets morning sun w/afternoon shade. Like the evergreen part & first bloomer sounds fabulous!

    Reply

  9. I wish I had you energy. An hour on Saturday was all I wanted to devote to my garden (which is looking pretty shabby).

    At first glance I thought the lirope were daylily.

    Your gardens look so neat and well maintained.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie! I try to do something each day. Somedays I get more done than others. They do have that same kind of foliage as daylillies but so much more invasive. It’s time for them to go. I’m a little of a neatfreak when it comes to my garden beds. :)

    Reply

  10. Looks really great. Just shows what a few hours of hard graft can achieve. People get into the mindset of thinking they can’t be bothered with their garden because there’s too much to do, when really a little work goes a long way.

    Thanks! It took a couple of hours but it was worth it in the end. I try to do a little each day and that way it doesn’t seem overwhelming.

    Reply

  11. Great job baby girl! Love the new looks in your gardens.

    Thanks Mom! :) I’m glad you love the new look of the gardens!

    Reply

  12. Everything looks so nice. Great timing with the rain, I’m glad you got some.

    Thanks Cindy! We needed it, the garden was brown, dry & crunchy. :)

    Reply

  13. Very good timing indeed! It looks good with that layer of compost. I’ve been thinking about limbing up our nandina to be more tree-like. I’m considering it a little more now that I’ve seen yours! You could replace the liriope with heucheras. Some nice purple might add another color to your garden.

    Thanks Dave! I think Nandinas have a great architectural form when limbed up. Plus you see all the great leaf mulch that is under them. Anything I plant there is going to be hog heaven. :) Glad I could inspire you to give yours a haircut. Frances suggest the same thing. I do adore Heucheras for their colorful foliage, especially the purple ones. Those great coppery tones ones are wonderful too.

    Reply

  14. Your gardens are looking wonderful. Nothing satisfies like redoing or refeshing a garden area in the fall. I have been doing the same here. Dug up some heuchera and split one big dark leaved plant into 8 to spread around. The foliage is pretty and the greener species even make habitat.
    Epimediums will flower heavier in spring with morning sun and change to such pretty colors in fall. Now is a goods time to buy as you can see autumn leaf color. Some tend more orangy, others redish or purplish. Such a softer woodland look than the heucheras.
    Adding mulch may be keeping aquilegia/columbine from reseeding.Just allow a few seed heads to dry then toss a few seeds over the fresh mulch.
    The foliage acts like such a pretty ground cover.

    Thanks Gloria for the great suggestions and for visiting today. I figured that was the reason my Columbines didn’t reseed. It is a pro & con to mulching. It prevents the things we want to reseed as well as the things we don’t. I’ve never grown Epimediums in my gardens so thanks for the tips. I googled them & the foliage is fabulous. I especially loved Epimedium rubrum with the green veining on the red leaves, and the flowers are interesting as well. I appreciate your helpful info today!

    Reply

  15. I love what you have done. Why are you wanting to get rid of the Liriope’s?
    The Nandina’s look great! I love the way you have them trimmed!

    Thanks Linda! The Liropes tend to be quite invasive & take over the garden. It’s just time to try something else instead. I still like my variegated ones though. I’m glad you like the Nandinas trimmed into small tree forms. :)

    Reply

  16. You’ve gotten some great suggestions for additions to this bed Racquel. Epimediums are fabulous. Your garden looks good and the compost is going to pay off next year for sure.

    I knew if I asked someone out there would give me some great suggestions. Those Epimediums sound fabulous. Thanks alot Kathleen!

    Reply

  17. I’m late reading today — I’ve been dividing Japanese iris clumps. I like what you’ve done with your woodland garden. I like to time planting with rain, too. Great info! Thanks, Cameron

    That’s okay. You’ve had a busy day too it seems. Dividing Iris isn’t a task I enjoy, but it is necessary to maintain blooms & healthy rhizomes. Thanks Cameron, I’m glad you like what I did with the Woodland Garden. I can’t take credit for knowing about the rain, it has been cool & cloudy so I figured it was a great time to do this.

    Reply

  18. The plant that popped into my head when I read you wanted suggestions to replace the Liriope is Bergenia, because its paddle shaped leaves would provide a solid contrast to the fine texture of the Nanadinas. They would probably be evergreen in your climate. Of course Hellebores, Heucheras & one of the larger-leafed Epimediums would be good also.

    Thanks for the suggestion MMD. I googled the Bergenia, and it would be a great replacement for the Lirope. Everyone has given me such great choices it will be a hard decision. Maybe I can add a couple of these selections to the Woodland Garden. I think the Begenia would be evergreen in my zone 7b garden. I know I wouldn’t have to heavily mulch them in the winter which is good.

    Reply

  19. I like the way everything looks Racquel. I like your Nandina “trees”. In the Woodland garden do you have any Heuchera planted? That might work in place of the Liriope. It comes in a few different colors. I really like the bright green one.

    Thanks Susie! They do look better with their trimming. I actually do have one Heucera Palace Purple that survived the summer in this bed. I’ve never planted the green ones, because I’ve always been partial to the burgundy foliage. Thanks for the suggestion!

    Reply

  20. I like the idea of the hellebores, Racquel–they can take a bit of sun, and their structure is gorgeous. They grow slowly, but they will get bigger than liriope–my older ones are almost 2 feet high and approaching 3 feet wide. What a pretty border–

    I do too Cosmos. I’ve always wanted to try Hellebores in my garden. They would get morning sun in this bed and then it turns to shade around 11:30-12:00 for the rest of the day. Thanks for the great info. I’m excited to try something new to me. :)

    Reply

  21. Isn’t it great when nature helps do your work for you? The beds look great after all of that hard work.

    It is a wonderful when Mother Nature helps out in the garden. The water she provides is so much better than tap water & more economical too. :) Thanks Cinj!

    Reply

  22. You keep being so busy Racquel. I am feeling lazy reading your blog these days! :)

    I once did the same thing to some Nandina. I personally think they look better limbed up like that. Plus more growing room! You got to love that. ;)

    Thanks Cynthia. I love this time of year because it is cool enough to get some real gardening done. The heat of summer makes me lazy. ;) Nandinas do look better trimmed up. They look kind of bushy otherwise.

    Reply

  23. Good to meet you. This is my first time on Bloomin Tuesday.
    I love your Hydrangea. Have a great week.

    Hi Grammy! Nice to meet you too! Welcome to Bloomin Tuesday, hope you join us each week. :) I’m glad you enjoyed my Limelight Hydrangea today.

    Reply

  24. Your blooms look really great. I’ve got to do some work in my garden. All the traveling has been hard on it. I may need to get Limelight next year now that I have irrigation.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee. I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today. I’ve been working away in my garden, taking advantage of our cooler weather lately. Perfect time of the year to do some rearranging. I think you would really enjoy Limelight. Not water needy like the mopheads.

    Reply

  25. Don’t you just love toad lilies. I planted some 3 years ago and they always surprise me with their late blooms. Another favorite later bloomer is simply toad flower. I just planted it last year and it is a favorite now, too! I think I have a thing for toads. :-) Rosie

    They are pretty special Rosie. It’s nice that they bloom at this time of the year when most of the summer blooms have long since faded. I’ve never seen Toad Flower, will have to google it. Thanks for visiting. lol

    Reply

  26. I wasn’t aware that clematis could rebloom this late in the season.
    Interesting and something to look into. Thanks!

    My rebloomers like Niobe usually do rebloom at this time of the year, their first flush being in June. Thanks for visiting today Kathryn! :)

    Reply

  27. You have been busy! Everything looks happy and healthy-and don’t you love it when Mother Nature finishes up for you?

    Thanks Carla. It really worked out in my favor when I finished this bed up. :)

    Reply

  28. After reading and viewing it is time for me to jump into action. Your beds look fantastic and your plants appreciate your care.

    I’m glad my post could motivate you into action! Thank you so much for visiting today!

    Reply

  29. Hard work pays off … your gardens look lovely making me feel guilty (After being away for 10 days, my garden calls, no screams!)

    Thanks Joey! Don’t feel guilty, I’m sure you will make it up to your garden soon. :)

    Reply

  30. I enjoy that how-to gardening stuff. I put mulch on my prepared gardens each year, and they do OK. I didn’t think about trying compost. Good idea!

    Mulch is great for the garden. I put down a fresh layer each late spring, but the compost really is a boost for the perennials & shrubs. Your garden will thank you for it Tex!

    Reply

  31. Beautiful blooms. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I understand where you’re coming from. Illness is so draining, isnt’ it? Bless you and your family.

    Thanks Wendy. I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms. You are very welcome. I’m glad I stopped by today. Illness is very draining on the entire family. Bless you & yours too! :)

    Reply

  32. It looks beautiful. How about some perennial geraniums to float around the Nandinas’ feet? I really like ‘Johnson’s Blue’ and ‘Rozanne’ is nice too.~~Dee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

