I am going to need more compost…

Sometimes I forget how many garden beds I have in my yard.  Plus the majority of them are quite large ranging from 20′ long and 5′-15′ in depth.  I knew going into this fall project that I would need more than one load of that wonderful rich compost, but now after completing more of my back garden beds I realize that I will probably need at least two more loads before it’s all said & done.  As you can see in the picture to the left I really put a dent in the pile and the funny part is I’m not even done with the back yard let alone the front garden beds. Luckily my son & his girlfriend were here yesterday and gave me a hand.  My son loaded up the wheelbarrow while his girlfriend helped me spread it out.  Here is what I’ve completed so far in the garden and I’m pleased with the results:

This is part of my new garden bed that I added in May of this year.  I gave this bed a really good layer of the rich organic matter, since my natural soil is a heavy clay.  Everything has done pretty well here this year. The Purple Fountain Grass (along the fence)  is really stealing the show at the moment.  I like the way the wind catches the plumes & gives the garden some life.  Susie from Digging in the dirt asked me to post a picture of my Blackeyed Susan vine.  It has really started to cover the TV Antenna trellis.   I ordered seed for the white variety for next year.  The white post in the lower right corner is the frame to my swing.  It’s a nice place to sit & look at the garden after the sun goes down. 

In this picture you can see the entire corner of this new bed.  Some plants that have really done well here are the Salvia ‘Mystic Spires’ (to the left), the purple Angelina (in the front), and the Purple Fountain Grass.  I also have some spring blooming plants & bulbs such as Daffodils, Crocosmia, Alliums and Candytuff plant here too.  I still need to clean up the edge of this bed & mow.  The Clematis on the trellis & Periwinkle in the hanging pots give the shed wall some interest.  I’m considering painting the shed a warm shade of tan to match the siding on my house.  It may help blend it in with the garden too. 

This last shot shows the part of the new bed that runs along the fence and connects with the existing Hydrangea bed.  The Forever & Ever Hydrangeas are not happy here and will be moved into a partial shade area this fall.  The ‘Black Adder’ Hyssop & ‘Miss Huff’ Lantana seem to be perfectly content in this hot & dry area of the garden.  I also will plant some daylillies & Liatris here to replace the Hydrangeas.  I think the mixture of orange & purple will be a vibrant accent next year.  Well this is what I’ve completed so far, I still have 2 more beds in the back to complete and 5 to complete up front.  Wish me luck!  :)

21 responses to this post.

  1. Some how there is never enough compost! The garden always is greedy for more.

    Your garden is lovely- I really like your grasses along the fence!

    Isn’t that the truth IIona, but there is plenty at the City composting facility. :) Thanks so much for visiting, I’m glad you enjoyed my garden & the Ornamental Grasses.

    Reply

  2. Great plant composition and I love the selection. Grasses are a “must” plant in my garden.
    Shirley Bovshow

    Thank you Shirley! I’m glad you liked my selection of plants. I do enjoy Ornamental Grasses in the garden. Some choices are better than others. Thanks for visiting today. :)

    Reply

  3. It all looks great, cant’ wait to see more.

    Thanks Darla, I’m glad you enjoyed it. There will be more to come, it’s a work in progress as we speak. :)

    Reply

  4. Your beds look lovely! I always try to spread plants out in certain areas but always put them too close together and end up with wild! Jean

    Thanks Jean. Sometimes as a gardener we want to place plants close together because when they are small it looks funny spaced out, but then it grows in & we have a tangled mess. :) Sometimes wild is lovely too. :)

    Reply

  5. It all looks so good! Your gardens and plants and you will be very happy when it is done!

    Thanks Tina! You could say that again. I will be happy to have the hard part over, but I know it’s going to make such a difference in the long run. :)

    Reply

  6. Love that fountain grass! All your beds look like they’re thriving.

    Thanks Nancy, Purple Fountaingrass is one of my favorite annuals to grow each year. It looks great in the fall. I’m pleased with the garden for the most part. :) It needs some tweaking still.

    Reply

  7. It looks as if it’s going to be lovely. can’t wait to see next year’s photos!

    Thanks Sue, I’m anticipating next years garden too. :)

    Reply

  8. It’s looking good so far! Good luck on the hydrangea move. There’s never enough compost. The corner garden around your shed is going to look really nice. You softened the side of the shed with those planters and the trellis.

    Thanks Dave! I already moved one of the hydrangeas to a spot under the Pecan Tree. It looks happier already. I’m very pleased with the new garden this year, it has really done well for a new addition. I like disguising ugly walls & bare fence panels with plants or trellises. Much easier on the eye. :)

    Reply

  9. You’ve gotten a lot done PGL! It’s always nice to have help too. I admire your ambition to spread compost everywhere. I always mean to do that but don’t always get it done! Your plants will reward you for it I’m sure.

    Thanks Kathleen. It is very nice to have help in the garden especially with the heavier jobs. It’s been a three years since the last time I did this and I really meant to do it every other year. Oh well, life gets in the way sometimes. :) The last time I did it the garden looked so lush & gorgeous that year.

    Reply

  10. Your composting efforts will really pay off next year! Glad to hear you had some help. Hope it wasn’t too hot and humid! It’s been terrible here the last two days. Cameron

    That’s what I’m hoping for Cameron. It was nice having some garden helpers this time around. Of course it’s my passion, not theirs. :) It’s been really hot today. 106 with the heat index. Ouch!

    Reply

  11. Your new bed looks wonderful, I can’t believe how it has filled in this summer.

    Thanks Mom! It has filled in nicely for a new addition. I’m happy with it. :)

    Reply

  12. Wow you have a lot of beds to mulch! Good thing you have help. Everything is looking great and just think how much easier it will be in the spring.

    Thanks Cindy! I know all this work is going to pay off in the end. Next Spring should be glorious. :)

    Reply

  13. Yeah, I found your new blog! Love the purple fountain grass. Wow, that’s a lot of work, but boy your yard and gardens are beautiful.

    I’m glad you found me Paula! :) Thanks, I really like the purple fountain grass too, unfortunately it’s an annual but pretty easy to find each year. It is alot of work but I love gardening so it’s really more like an obsession for me. :)

    Reply

  14. hey found your new site.
    you have been hard at work.
    i bet you love it.
    it looks like fun!

    I’m glad you were able to find my new site Marmee. Yep it’s been a busy few days & still more work to be done. But it’s looking good so far and I do love it.

    Reply

  15. Posted by greenwalks on September 14, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    You are a busy bee! Nice that the kids helped. I need to amend, big-time. Do you get straight compost or is it mixed with something? Do you dig it in or just top-dress? How many inches? Those will be some happy plants come spring, I’m sure!

    This is the time of the year to do all the dirty work in the garden. I get straight compost and I basically top dress the existing beds. When I create a new garden I till it in 6-8″. But even top dressing the existing beds really helps, because as the soil gets compressed I tend to take the cultivator to it & fluff it up which gets those nice particles mixed in well. The last time I did a couple of years ago it really made a difference the next spring. I need to do it every year, but it doesn’t always happen that way. :)

    Reply

  16. Looks like a lot of work PG! I’m sure all your efforts will be rewarded with nice lush growth next spring.

    Thanks Linda! :) I’m enjoying every minute of it.

    Reply

  17. The compost sure goes fast when you have a lot of gardening beds! I never seem to have enough myself. I still wish I had your trailer. :)

    This year it went quicker Cynthia because I had one extra bed. That trailor has already been a great garden accessory. :)

    Reply

  18. Lucky you! Lots of great color still popping in these lovely photos. Still waiting for my variegated toadlily to bloom … a late beauty well worth waiting for.

    Thanks Joey. I’m happy with the fall garden this year. Can’t wait to see your variegated Toadlily, hope you post a picture when it blooms.

    Reply

  19. How pretty and neat looking! Every thing just looks lovely with a fresh layer of compost or mulch on it!!! I know your plants are happy-I can see them smile from here!

    Thanks Carla. I think they will reward me nicely next spring & summer for my extra efforts.

    Reply

  20. You have some great plants–some of my favorites. Your reworked garden looks perfect. Next spring please let us all see how the results.
    Marnie

    Reply

  21. Your garden looks great! It’s funny gardening is so fun but it’s a lot of work. I know each spring or eraly summer depending on how busy my wifes and I schedule we add mulch every year to our flower beds. There’s nothing I hate more then weeds :)

    Keep up the great work on your garden, you do an amazing job.

    Sincerely,

    Jamie Boyle
    Hypertufa Gardening

    Learn How To Make Hypertufa and Enjoy Gardening This Summer

    Reply

Leave a Reply

