Black Gold!

Yesterday I went to my local Composting Facility to get either some fine mulch or compost. After looking at the samples they displayed, I decided on the compost because it will act as both a mulch for the garden as well as a soil amendment. I will probably need another load to be able to be able to top dress all of my flower beds this fall. Doesn’t this stuff look fantastic? I can’t wait to start distributing this throughout the garden. My plants are going to be so happy with all this rich organic material. This is a great way to purchase compost or mulch in bulk for a reasonable price. They turn the huge piles with a bulldozer and dump a load in your truck or trailer with one single scoop. Here is the information I found from vppsa:

“The facility has a staff of eight personnel who process over 30,000 tons of vegetative yard waste annually.The Compost Facility receives brush, leaves, grass and other vegetative material from city and county vehicles, residents, and commercial customers. The materials are separated by type and then processed into our compost & mulch products. During the decomposition process, leaves and grass are continuously aerated and monitored for temperature. Larger materials are ground into mulch using the facility’s grinder. Once ground, this material is then cured in large static piles for a minimum of three months. During this time the material will reach temperatures of over 180°F, effectively removing pathogens, weed seeds, insects and residual insect larvae.”

25 responses to this post.

  1. I sure wish we had a compost facility around here. I hear there is one in Nashville, but that is so far away. You are so lucky! Was the price comparable to mulch? Or cheaper:)

    I really do use this facility every year. The compost is more expensive than the mulch but considering how much I bought it was cheaper than buying it by the bag. And it’s definitely cheaper than buying mulch by the bag.

    Reply

  2. The problem with word press is the comment feeder. How can I get it to email me with your response? I do know you always respond so checking back is not an issue, I just prefer the feed.

    I think Cynthia answered you in the next comment. I’m still finding my way around.

    Reply

  3. I am so jealous of your black gold! Can I borrow your trailer? Please. About a year ago we got rid of our Toyota truck as we could no longer afford to keep gas in it and I miss it so much when it comes to the garden.

    Wow, everyone is moving to WordPress this week. I think you will like it once you get the hang of it. I for one think it is awesome.

    To Tina above, have you tried subscribing using the link at the above right hand corner? Just trying to help. :)

    I would loan it to you, but you are a long way from here. :) I’m still feeling my way around with wordpress. I was just very comfortable with blogger. Thanks for answering Tina. I didn’t have a clue. :)

    Reply

  4. Okay, got your new url all set up so can get your posts now. The other day it wouldn’t find you, but I think it’s going to work now. The ‘black glod’ looks wonderful. I too wish we has a place like that close-especially for mulch. Although, I think I’d need a semi-trailer full. :) Hope you enjoy your new site.

    Great! I’m glad you followed me to wordpress. A semi-trailer? lol Thanks Beckie. :)

    Reply

  5. Hi Perennial Gardener – your new home is looking very nice –
    Karen

    Thanks Karen!

    Reply

  6. PS – I have changed your link in my blogroll.
    K

    Sounds great! Thank you.

    Reply

  7. I found your blog on Artists Garden – how I wish I had that pile of great compost sitting in my garden – I was just talking to a friend the other day and saying that the secret to a good garden is in the soil – especially vegetables! Will be looking forward to great results! Miranda

    Thanks for visiting me Miranda. The soil can make or break a garden. I have heavy clay so I amend it & add to it each year.

    Reply

  8. I need some of that. :-)

    I would share if I could Donna, lol :)

    Reply

  9. That compost looks so good. I wish I had a truck so I could pick up my own!

    Thanks Cindy, a truck does make life easier in the garden.

    Reply

  10. Your black gold looks wonderful! (And kudos for a smooth transition to WP!)

    Thanks Nancy! It was sort of smooth, just some minor adjustments. :)

    Reply

  11. Come on over and pick up your award!!

    Thanks Darla.

    Reply

  12. Hi PGL,
    I found you. Hope things are better here for you.
    We don’t have a place to pick up compost. I’m envious.That’s why your plants are so beautiful!

    Hi Balisha! I’m glad you were able to find me. :) It will take some getting use to, the new site. Thanks, it does help to give back to the garden every year.

    Reply

  13. Thanks Cynthia. It seems to want to add a bookmark instead of a feed, but I’ll just keep checking and try to figure it out.

    Sorry that this is so complicated Tina. :( PGL

    Reply

  14. I found you! I will update my blogroll to this new link so that my readers won’t miss out on your blog.
    Thanks Cameron, I’m glad you found me. :)

    Reply

  15. love your new compost, that is what it is all about the soil!
    good for you happy garden!

    Isn’t that the truth Marmee! :) Happy Gardening to you too!

    Reply

  16. Looks great. We have a municipal facility here. Two cents per pound for compost. You have to haul it. You also have to pick out the pieces of plastic bags, cigarette wrappers, etc that lazy homeowners send to the compost plant.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie. Our facility will let you do the same thing, but I’m lucky that there isn’t usually too much trash in the compost. Sometimes bits of rubber hoses, strange huh?

    Reply

  17. Posted by fairegarden on September 10, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Hi PGL, I finally figured out who you were, it didn’t show up on the comment email for some reason, so sorry about that! All is fixed in my blogroll with your wordpress link, too, I had put your blogger one there by mistake. Your theme is lovely, it looks like you are a pro at this! Now about that compost, boy does that instill compost envy, it looks perfect and will grow anything well. Good planting!
    Frances at Fairegarden

    It was kind of weird how it did that. I commented to your blog through Blotanical. Right after I switched to wordpress two of my blogger posts showed up in Blotanical. Very weird. Thanks for adding me to your blogroll, I did the same with you this morning. :) I’m glad you like my compost, it’s pretty special stuff. My garden is going to be really happy come spring.

    Reply

  18. Hey Daughter!

    Let me know how you like you new home :)

    Great looking compost !

    Hey Mom, it’s not too bad. Still feeling my way around. Thanks!

    Reply

  19. That reminds me I need to get some compost from my BIL. He works for a land clearing company and they take it all back and compost it.

    Glad I refreshed your memory today Sam. :) That’s a great way to get some compost, talk about recycling. Thanks for visiting.

    Reply

  20. My heavy clay soil would love a truck load of that too! You’re so smart to have a trailer to haul it in. I have to buy the bags and add it the slow, little-bit-at-a-time, way. Next year, we’ll probably see the results thru your garden posts.

    Compost is great for breaking up that heavy clay. That’s what I had in my garden and some areas are still kind of that way. Most of the beds have been amended over the years until they are almost loamy. We got the trailor specifically for tasks like this instead of having to unload the truck immediately. :)

    Reply

  21. That compost looks fantastic! I would like to just run my fingers right through it! I’d say your plants will be very happy.

    Good luck with this move. Pardon my stupidity but I don’t know what the “feed” is. So, I hope this works out. Now if I can just change your address on my blogroll without messing things up! hehe

    Thanks Susie, it is some pretty rich stuff. I actually did run my fingers through it, lol. I’m pretty happy so far with my new digs, there are good things about blogger & wordpress. I hope you figured out how to change my address in your blogroll. :)

    Reply

  22. looks great PGL. . . both the compost and the new blog!

    Thanks Linda! I’m glad you liked the compost & my new blog. :)

    Reply

  23. Ah nice compost! It seems everyone is looking to move from blogger. I’ll change the link on my blogroll. I do like the clean look of wordpress blogs.

    Thanks Dave! Yeah, I really didn’t want to move, but the complications with the feed & other problems drove me to it. I do like the cleaner look myself. They both have features I like.

    Reply

  24. Posted by Lola on September 10, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Got your new site. I like it much better.
    Boy what a haul. That soil {compost} sure looks good. Wish they had that where I live.

    Thanks Lola, glad you followed me over to my new site. That compost is so great it makes me happy just running my fingers through it. :)

    Reply

  25. I’m green! And I don’t mean ‘green thumbed’ either! I’m still looking for a place ’round here:(. Enjoy your black gold-it really looks like black gold too! I know it will make your plant babies smile!

    Didn’t mean to make you green with envy Carla. My plants are going to be so happy to get this lovely black organic matter as a top dressing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

